We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven in VT- 6 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 1868 Crosby House to your Saves list
1868 Crosby House
175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
burlington vt
1 review
“A slice of heaven in VT- 6 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We travel to Brattleboro every year to play in a tennis tournament and stay at this lovely B&B and get spoiled by Lynn and Richard every time we go! If you want to stay at a really cozy B&B and have a nice private room and wake up to fresh tea and coffee and a yummie breakfast, then you have found your spot. Just down the road from the wonderful small city of Brattleboro and close to all the attractions you will be delighted with your experience. We have stayed at many other places over the past 10 years but have finally learned that the Crosby house feels like "home"!! Its nice to know that genuine good hearted people like Lynn and Richard are still out there in the world....it simply makes you feel good. The hardest part is leaving after such a great weekend like this. Thank you both for always being so giving and taking care of us!!!! Is there a way to give more than 5 stars!!????

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
81
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windham, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have stayed at the 1868 Crosby House a number of times and never were we disappointed. If you read the other reviews you will see they are all gushing and its for good reason. Lynn and her husband Richard are the perfect B&B owners, there if you need them invisible when you don't.

The house is beautiful, the rooms quiet and comfortable, the breakfast first-class.

Get out of town and enjoy a nice stay in Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Martha Stuart would have loved it here. The antiques, rooms, one with Jacuzzi, are all beautiful. We fond it unnecessary to leave the grounds. Breakfast was imaginative and worthy of 5 stars, and I am picky. We felt like family. Look no further.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Crosby House gets it right--the decor, the amenities, the food, and the service--are simply on target. There is a subtle but careful attention to detail in all of these domains that makes everything work, and work well. It's rare to find such high standards at a B&B in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We recently spent a night at the 1868 Crosby House and were very pleased with our stay. We booked the Summer Retreat room (although the night we stayed was cold and rainy) and would not have been more pleased. Cosy room with a gas fireplace, spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi for two and a quiet, peacful setting for a relaxing night.

The innkeeper, Lynn, was gracious and made us a truly gourmet breakfast. When we stay at inns and B&B's, we like our solitude (no hovering hosts for us) and Lynn gave us just the right amount of attention and space.

I would highly recommend 1868 Crosby House to anyone who enjoys high qualtiy lodgings at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We discovered this B&B when required to travel to Brattleboro, VT. It is a beautiful place, but what makes it so special is are the accomodations. We lacked for nothing. They bring coffee to your room prior to breakfast, allowing you to choose when you want to eat, rather than having a set time for everyone. The room had a wonderful fireplace, with a timer to allow you to fall asleep without worrying about it. It is located in a beautiful town of Brattletoro, which seems to be a sleepy, artsy community set in the hills of Vermont. I can't say enough about this inn and the innkeeper, Lynn. Beautiful, comfy, cozy - perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just returned from three-night stay at 1868 Crosby House. It couldn't have been more perfect. Lynn and Richard are most gracious innkeepers. The Summer Retreat bedroom has an extra-large bathroom with a wonderful jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. There are two other bedrooms upstairs, but we felt like we were the only ones in the house. I can't say enough good things about the three breakfasts we enjoyed. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, it did. The back garden area is beautiful. I wish we had allotted a half-day just to go exploring on the trails adjoining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Crosby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.