We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynn and Richard at Crosby House are the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Save Saved
You added 1868 Crosby House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1868 Crosby House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
“Lynn and Richard at Crosby House are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent many nights in the B&B in 2013 and 2014.

Rooms are great and Lynn and Richard are the sweetest persons in the world.

And finally, Brattleboro is a very cool place to stay (countryside, foliage, mountains..)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you, Alex....we always look forward to your stays with us! Wish more corporate travelers would give us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
69
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of December 2013. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious enough to accommodate all our winter luggage. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed meeting the other travelers at the inn. The whirlpool tub was spacious and relaxing. We loved the Brattleboro area and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the Crosby House and Brattleboro! Don't forget that all our repeat guests get a discount with a direct reservation....we love having you come back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve in Brattleboro, arriving at the Crosby House on Dec. 30. From the moment Lynn opened the door to let us in, we felt at home. The home is wonderfully decorated reflecting the 1868 era. I felt like I had gone back in time! The rooms are so cozy and inviting. In fact, it was so cold in Brattleboro New Years Eve day, that we just hunkered down and enjoyed. Lynn's breakfasts are the best we have had at B&Bs. What a nice touch having her husband deliver coffee to us in the morning. He is quite a guy and makes an excellent cup of coffee. I know someone posted that the room was cold at night. I couldn't disagree more. The bedding is very warm and cozy. My husband gets cold easily and he was very comfortable. Now that I've experienced the Crosby House, I intend to go back in the finer weather to enjoy the gardens and hike around a bit.

Room Tip: My favorite room was the blue room. It has a wonderful jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for those kind words! We're looking forward to your next visit to enjoy the warmer weather in our gardens, hiking trails and our unique town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester. MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights including New Year's Eve, and The 1868 Crosby House became one of our 2 favorite getaway spots. Start with early--1 PM!--check-in and the tour of the building, great common room, a DVD/CD\book library and assorted toilets in case we forgot anything. Continue with a very nice room, 2 chairs for 2 people, a real closet, very comfortable bed,extra towels in the bathroom.

We did have one glitch, a backed-up toilet, but Lynne and Richard gave us another room, this one with a Jacuzzi.

Lynn's breakfasts are the best we ever had--anywhere. First of all, coffee comes to the room 30 minutes before breakfast. Breakfast itself includes plenty of juice and of course more coffee, fruit as the first course,and a hot entree that is beyond belief. We had poached pears one day, kiwi and clementines another for the fruit course. French toast croissants, , egg ham and cheese baked combo. words and attempted descriptions cannot do justice to the actual presentation and melt in your mouth deliciousness of the breakfasts.

Pluses:

Single serve coffee, tea and hot cider and cookies are available 24\7.

The Jacuzzi was designed for real people,that is, all the controls were above the area where people actually are in the tub--no bumping against faucets, valves, etc. A timer letsd you set the amount of time you want the jets on.

Of course thew rooms have TVs, DVDs\VCRs alarm clocks and radios, Free wi-fi.

Minor minuses--which make this a 4.8 rather than full five star review:

Some of the bathrobes are too small for"plus-size" people (like moi)

Chairs are not well situated to view the TV.

There is some traffic noise if the room fronts Rt. 9--as ours did..

Bottom line:
Yes, we plan to go back, after all, no place--at least that we've ever been to, is perfect, and this one is closer than most.

Finally, the bitter cold prevented us from trying the hiking trails, even with snowshoes.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try for a room that doesn't front Rt. 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you! By the way....we have replaced those robes that had shrunk in the wash...just delivered last week! We enjoyed your visit....come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a lovely B&B that wasn't quite right for me, though others may enjoy staying here. Here are the PROs and CONs as I see them; you can decide which are important to you.

PROS
1. The common rooms, grounds, and guest room were lovely and clean. 2. Breakfast was very good - the hosts even inquired about special dietary needs. 3. It was quiet in the house at night.

CONS
1. We found both the house and our room too cold, even though the hosts told us "the heat is on." I run warmer than my partner, and it's rare for me to find a room too cold. There was a gas fireplace in our room, but the two-hour timer prevented running it through the night. 2. The road noise from Western Ave woke me in the night, even though I wear earplugs when I travel. Noise-sensitive people may want to research their room options.

A nitpick: we have to have our coffee in the morning, so we were pleased to see a Keurig machine in the common room. But whenever we tried to use it, the host insisted on pouring us a cup of coffee from the kitchen, which was not strong the way we like it. We tried to tactfully indicate our preference for the Keurig coffee, but the host didn't (or wouldn't) understand.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Western Ave if you are noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Though it's rare, it always disappoints us when we have not been able to give our guests an overall good experience. To be sure, we Vermonters are energy conscious, but not to the point where our guests are uncomfortable - I apologize, wish I'd known. And it's hard to make coffee that meets everyone's criteria these days and that Keurig sure helps, especially with Starbucks fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Moments from the center of Brattleboro, the house full of charm. Lynn, the owner, was wonderful. With her guidance, we made a day trip exploring nearby locales. The room was warm and immaculate. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our stay was brief but the house was lovely, inviting, and well managed; It was a very open and comfortable place to be in. If I had to think of one complaint, it was that no soap was provided in the shower; however, this minor detail is overshadowed by the pleasant and comfortable atmosphere the place provided as well as the amazing breakfast the morning had to offer. It was a fulfilling and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1868 Crosby House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Crosby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.