We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Crosby House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added 1868 Crosby House to your Saves list
1868 Crosby House
175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“LOVE Crosby House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of December 2013. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious enough to accommodate all our winter luggage. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed meeting the other travelers at the inn. The whirlpool tub was spacious and relaxing. We loved the Brattleboro area and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the Crosby House and Brattleboro! Don't forget that all our repeat guests get a discount with a direct reservation....we love having you come back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
75
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve in Brattleboro, arriving at the Crosby House on Dec. 30. From the moment Lynn opened the door to let us in, we felt at home. The home is wonderfully decorated reflecting the 1868 era. I felt like I had gone back in time! The rooms are so cozy and inviting. In fact, it was so cold in Brattleboro New Years Eve day, that we just hunkered down and enjoyed. Lynn's breakfasts are the best we have had at B&Bs. What a nice touch having her husband deliver coffee to us in the morning. He is quite a guy and makes an excellent cup of coffee. I know someone posted that the room was cold at night. I couldn't disagree more. The bedding is very warm and cozy. My husband gets cold easily and he was very comfortable. Now that I've experienced the Crosby House, I intend to go back in the finer weather to enjoy the gardens and hike around a bit.

Room Tip: My favorite room was the blue room. It has a wonderful jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for those kind words! We're looking forward to your next visit to enjoy the warmer weather in our gardens, hiking trails and our unique town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester. MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights including New Year's Eve, and The 1868 Crosby House became one of our 2 favorite getaway spots. Start with early--1 PM!--check-in and the tour of the building, great common room, a DVD/CD\book library and assorted toilets in case we forgot anything. Continue with a very nice room, 2 chairs for 2 people, a real closet, very comfortable bed,extra towels in the bathroom.

We did have one glitch, a backed-up toilet, but Lynne and Richard gave us another room, this one with a Jacuzzi.

Lynn's breakfasts are the best we ever had--anywhere. First of all, coffee comes to the room 30 minutes before breakfast. Breakfast itself includes plenty of juice and of course more coffee, fruit as the first course,and a hot entree that is beyond belief. We had poached pears one day, kiwi and clementines another for the fruit course. French toast croissants, , egg ham and cheese baked combo. words and attempted descriptions cannot do justice to the actual presentation and melt in your mouth deliciousness of the breakfasts.

Pluses:

Single serve coffee, tea and hot cider and cookies are available 24\7.

The Jacuzzi was designed for real people,that is, all the controls were above the area where people actually are in the tub--no bumping against faucets, valves, etc. A timer letsd you set the amount of time you want the jets on.

Of course thew rooms have TVs, DVDs\VCRs alarm clocks and radios, Free wi-fi.

Minor minuses--which make this a 4.8 rather than full five star review:

Some of the bathrobes are too small for"plus-size" people (like moi)

Chairs are not well situated to view the TV.

There is some traffic noise if the room fronts Rt. 9--as ours did..

Bottom line:
Yes, we plan to go back, after all, no place--at least that we've ever been to, is perfect, and this one is closer than most.

Finally, the bitter cold prevented us from trying the hiking trails, even with snowshoes.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try for a room that doesn't front Rt. 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you! By the way....we have replaced those robes that had shrunk in the wash...just delivered last week! We enjoyed your visit....come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a lovely B&B that wasn't quite right for me, though others may enjoy staying here. Here are the PROs and CONs as I see them; you can decide which are important to you.

PROS
1. The common rooms, grounds, and guest room were lovely and clean. 2. Breakfast was very good - the hosts even inquired about special dietary needs. 3. It was quiet in the house at night.

CONS
1. We found both the house and our room too cold, even though the hosts told us "the heat is on." I run warmer than my partner, and it's rare for me to find a room too cold. There was a gas fireplace in our room, but the two-hour timer prevented running it through the night. 2. The road noise from Western Ave woke me in the night, even though I wear earplugs when I travel. Noise-sensitive people may want to research their room options.

A nitpick: we have to have our coffee in the morning, so we were pleased to see a Keurig machine in the common room. But whenever we tried to use it, the host insisted on pouring us a cup of coffee from the kitchen, which was not strong the way we like it. We tried to tactfully indicate our preference for the Keurig coffee, but the host didn't (or wouldn't) understand.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Western Ave if you are noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Though it's rare, it always disappoints us when we have not been able to give our guests an overall good experience. To be sure, we Vermonters are energy conscious, but not to the point where our guests are uncomfortable - I apologize, wish I'd known. And it's hard to make coffee that meets everyone's criteria these days and that Keurig sure helps, especially with Starbucks fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Moments from the center of Brattleboro, the house full of charm. Lynn, the owner, was wonderful. With her guidance, we made a day trip exploring nearby locales. The room was warm and immaculate. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our stay was brief but the house was lovely, inviting, and well managed; It was a very open and comfortable place to be in. If I had to think of one complaint, it was that no soap was provided in the shower; however, this minor detail is overshadowed by the pleasant and comfortable atmosphere the place provided as well as the amazing breakfast the morning had to offer. It was a fulfilling and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for one night on October 22nd. It was even better than the website pictures! Lynn, the owner, was charming and friendly and we found much in common. She suggested restaurants for our evening meal and we found the one we chose to be just right for our needs. Our room was the Garden Suite which accommodated us perfectly. The beds were so comfortable, the gas fire and chair beside was a firm favourite with our daughter. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels - every detail had been thought about and provided for our comfort. Pretty decorations in our room and white shutters - the view over the garden was lovely to wake up to. We managed a quick walk up to the summer house before we left. Unfortunately we did not have time to walk any trails. Breakfast was a delight - Lynn enjoys cooking - poached pear in cinnamon with a baby muffin, fresh juice and coffee followed by eggs wrapped in ham and local Grafton cheese baked in a muffin tin (yes) with swirled pumpernickel toast - amazing! We ate in the beautiful period dining room with the fire lit and the autumn holiday decorations tastefully arranged. So hard to leave - would love to return. If you need to stay in Brattleboro a stay at this home is to be desired.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful for a couple. The Garden Suite has a double sofa bed as well as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Travelocity so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Crosby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.