We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed & Breakfast in Vermont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
192 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Bed & Breakfast in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The area offered much to do during our weekend stay: hiking, shopping, and eating. Forty Putney B&B was absolutely the best accommodation in the area. Rooms are plush and gorgeous; privacy abounds; breakfasts are gourmet. We felt at home the moment we arrived.

The grounds are well-manicured and beautiful. A hiking trail sits at the property's rear edge, leading to picturesque views. Our B & B was walking distance to downtown and restaurants. A canoe and kayak rental sat right around the corner, too.

If you like privacy, Forty Putney is the place to go, yet anything you need is only an arm's length away! The inn keeper, Rhonda, is very personable and knows how to create delicious masterpieces from scratch. Everything is meticulously designed -- nothing is forgotten. Our room was clean and comfortable, even providing little items we may have forgotten at home.

We cannot wait to return for another get away! We highly recommend visiting Rhonda at Forty Putney B & B!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
292
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our best experience to date at a B&B. Rhonda, the owner, pays such attention to detail and prepared the most exquisite breakfast made from scratch! The grounds are beautiful, the Inn feels like you are truly at home! Snacks, beverages provided in the rooms. Private outdoor hot tub and back patio overlooking the lush grounds. The atmosphere is cozy and the staff are wonderful. So happy to have stayed here and to have met Ronda- she loves what she does and it really shows. Will return as soon as we are back in the area. Love this place- what a woderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A one night stay for our 27th wedding anniversary!
We were in a delightful, well appointed guest room in the Cottage.
Relaxing soak tub. Oh and the sheets are perfectly soft.
Local snacks and beverages were provided as well as in-room fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife has been on a roll picking great B&B for weekend excursions and Forty Putney Road is no exception. The owner is fantastic, she gave us a very detailed tour of the property which has a lot of little extras to make our stay comfortable. she also took the time to provide information on things to do in the area as well as making dinner reservations for us. The property is in a great location overlooking the lake and a short walk into the town center. Both mornings we received a nicely prepared breakfast consisting of two courses. When we arrived back home we received an email soliciting recommendations for any improvements that might have made out stay better.

Room Tip: The hummingbird suite is not in the main house and is very nice. Highly recommend this suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family of 8 stayed here for about 1 week. The staff, especially the inn keeper made us feel like it was our home away from home. She was extremely accommodating to all of our needs.
The house and surrounding property was absolutely beautiful. I will especially miss my comfortable bed and the softest sheets I have ever felt.
If I win the lotto, I'm moving in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on the first leg of our honeymoon recently and stayed in the Hummingbird suite. Though advised that this was one of the "coziest" rooms when we booked (usually meaning "way-too-small" or "old"), this was quite the opposite. This room felt like we were snuggling newly-weds! Plenty of room still with a queen bed, private bath, porthole windows (charming!), tv, refrigerator, sitting area, and lots of "extras" like complimentary snacks and Vermont beverages in the room, DVD library for guests' use, complimentary popcorn, pub with beers/wine (for a fee, of course), and some of the best B&B breakfasts we had (I don't even know where to start with this...).

The Inn and the grounds were impressive, too. Lots of little sitting areas on the lawn and gazebo, a private indoor hot tub for guest use, trails in the woods behind the house along a lake (which also doubles as your own private swimming hole), and tons of character.

The Inn sits about .3 miles from the heart of downtown. We easily walked wherever we needed to go! Brattleboro has many great restaurants, bars, and hiking/canoeing/kayaking that is easily accessible.

Rhonda (the innkeeper), took on Forty Putney in December (2012) and has done so many wonderful things to make it her own and put a true Vermont stamp on this Inn. (The former innkeepers now own Whetstone Station, a restaurant that we tried which is also quite good). Rhonda is not overbearing, but attends to any needs you may have. The price for the Inn is so reasonable, and is really a place we will be going back to in the future!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with what room you choose. Lots of pics and info on the website. All are fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a great B&B this find was, we booked late and had a nice room in the carriage house across from the main house, the room was perfect and had a jacuzzi tub as well, the main house was was beautiful with antique furniture and hardwood floors, There was a pool table in the front living room, and a tap toom next to that, with a few beers on tap and a nice selection of wines. Downtown Brattleboro is a few blocks away and a easy walk for anyone. The best surprise was the morning breakfast,,,a two course breakfast with oven french toast with peaches, and warm vermont maple syrup... ii was outstanding to say the least,,,Rhonda is a terrific host and made everyone there comfortable and at home...without a doubt we will be back,,, see ya soon Rhonda,,,

Ed and Kate
Wallingford CT

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 192 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. In-house pub with large selection of local craft beers and wines. Hiking trails on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.