We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many amenities and conveniences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast
192 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Many amenities and conveniences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Forty Putney Road Bed & Breakfast in February 2013. This B&B has every amenity and convenience you can imagine. The property has a pub, hot tub, and pool table. Guests have access to snacks, beverages, and in-room mini fridge. Rhonda did a wonderful job with the breakfast and hospitality. The location is close to downtown and was quiet. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were told Room 4 may be a little cold in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
My pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
264
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I booked Forty Putney Road from the reviews we saw on Tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. The house has alot of character and charm. It is spotless. Rhonda welcomed us and showed us around the home and showed us to our room and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. We had the Mountainview room, the bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy and roomy. The house has a nice big main room on the first floor that has a pool table and a fireplace which is great to relax in. The pub is fun and Rhonda serves beer and wine in the evenings. There is a sunroom on the second floor that is nice to relax in. The grounds will be great in the nice weather, the yard is huge and the views are great. There is a hot tub outside in an enclosed building. The breakfasts were outstanding. The staff is very warm and friendly and very helpful. It is a short walk to downtown Brattleboro. This is a great place to get away and relax. The area has some outstanding scenery. Rhonda and her staff are doing a great job. We have already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you! You should see the backyard today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We wish we could of stayed at least one more night. You know it is a wonderful place when you are not ready to leave. The room was great, nicely decorated with just the right comforts at your fingertips. The gas fireplace heated the room to more than toasty, such a nice luxury. We were ablr to have a wonderful visit with a friend in the living room. There was enough to do at the bed and breakfast that you didn't need to leave for entertainment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I'm so pleased to know that you would have enjoyed more time with us here at Forty Putney Road. Next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Earlier in March my wife and I travelled to the Putney/Brattleboro area to visit our son in college. I searched online for a B&B or Country Inn in the area and I narrowed down the list to three places that had great reviews. The first place to get back to me was the Forty Putney Road B&B. It is located north of Brattleboro, about a 12 minute walk from the center of downtown. The innkeeper Rhonda was very pleasant and accommodating with our needs. She offered to call a local restaurant to setup a dinner reservation for us on the evening of our arrival. She asked us about our breakfast preferences and because we were having a very late check-in she left a note for us with information about our stay and how to get access to our room keys.

We reserved the Garden Room in the 2nd floor facing the rear garden. The room was very well appointed with a medium size LCD TV, 2 large comfy chairs and table, a small fridge with two local carbonated juice/soda drinks, a basket with several different kind of chips and power bars and a wonderfully soft Queen size four post bed. The linens were of very high thread count (I think they are made in VT), very soft to the touch. The bed has a pillow top mattress that seems to be made with memory foam. The bathroom vanity had emergency toothpaste, toothbrush and other necessary sundry items. The toiletries were of high quality and the towels were large and soft. At the foot of the bed was a trunk with a couple of plush cotton robes and slippers on top for us to use. The robes and the linens are available for purchase if desired.

The room is beautifully decorated with "antiques" that evoke the time period of the early 20's. The room has three windows that face the beautiful garden now covered with snow. The room has an original cast iron hot water heater and a gas fireplace to keep the room cozy. The shower has a nice rain type shower head and there is a medium size window that brings daylight in to the bathroom.

From the bedroom windows at distance beyond the garden you can see the Connecticut River. In the middle of the garden you will see a large tree that happens to be one of the largest Japanese Maples in the US. During the warmer months you can use the trails at the back of the garden that meander all the way down to the river. I have seen photos of the garden taken in the spring and it looks really beautiful.

In the morning we went downstairs to the dining room to start our breakfast. We were warmly greeted by Rhonda and she gave us a history account of how she came to own the B&B since last December. The previous owners built a great reputation and brand name. They actually opened a restaurant in downtown Brattleboro called Whetstone Station; see my review.

As for the breakfast, the first thing was a glass of delicious fresh-squeezed orange juice. Then we were served a poached pear with granola and a sweet sauce. Then a yummy freshly-baked cranberry muffin. The third dish was vegetarian quiche with a side of bacon and sliced tomato. The fixed menu breakfast was excellent.

There is free wireless throughout the house. In the garden there is a small building that houses a hot tub with a fireplace overlooking the river. We did not use the hot tub this time. The garden offers an extensive selection of perennials and several fountains that are conducive to wildlife watching. Upstairs there is a large selection of books and DVD's. There is a pub room downstairs that is about to open soon. Rhonda is awaiting the completion of the permit process. The previous owners were known for their high quality craft beers provided at the pub. Rhonda is going to continue that tradition. The Forty Putney Road offers six rooms, four in the main house and two in the former carriage house on the opposite side of the driveway.

The daily rates range from mid $100's to mid $300's depending on the room. It is not cheap but very well with it. I do not think you will be disappointed. It has a great location, quiet surroundings and the combination of country charm and elegance are very enticing. Thank you Rhonda for a great experience.

Room Tip: The Garden Room offers a great view of the gardens from the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
THANK YOU! for sharing your time here in Brattleboro here at Forty Putney Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a weekend getaway and we found the best BB we ever stayed at. The staff was awesome very friendly and outgoing. The house was spotless and the breakfast was great. I would defiantly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at 40 Putney Road. As I am seven months pregnant, we were looking for the perfect "babymoon" -- a relaxing weekend away before our lives get turned upside down. Innkeeper, Rhonda, made this possible! We accidentally booked the inn for Saturday/Sunday evenings and were shocked when we made this discovery upon check-in on a Friday evening. The inn was booked to capacity and Rhonda did everything to make sure we would get a decent accommodation elsewhere that evening. She ended up booking us at the Putney Inn. Rhonda was very concerned about our comfort -- I think she felt more badly than we did about the mistake. Putney Inn was fine but we were excited to "really" check in to 40 Putney on Saturday. Rhonda made sure our room, The New Room, was the first to be cleaned and we were able to check in two hours early. The room was soooo comfortable -- take this from a pregnant woman who has to sleep propped up on four pillows. The common spaces were relaxing. We enjoyed tea and a beer by the fire on Saturday afternoon. Sunday's breakfast was amazing. Rhonda is a talented chef and she was thorough in making sure that she accommodated guests with allergies. With a baby on the way, I don't know when, but we WILL be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Next time, you're coming for three days!! Thank you both. You were a pleasure to meet. Don't forget to send me baby pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent three nights in the Ripley Suite this past weekend. The myriad glowing reviews of 40 Putney Road are not overstated.

I booked the trip as a birthday gift a few months ago and was concerned when the property was sold in the interim, as our choice of venue was based in large part on reviews under prior ownership. Not to worry -- Rhonda is a spectacular an innkeeper as you could ever hope to encounter. Her hospitality and her breakfasts are outstanding.

The photos of the accommodations speak for themselves. The Ripley Suite is spacious yet cozy, and was well worth the added cost. The separate hot tub building at the rear of the property, overlooking the Retreat Meadow, is a nice touch (and has its own fireplace, too).

The hiking trail through the woods behind the property is a pleasant outdoor excursion. It gets a little hilly to the right (and eventually dead-ends), but the trail is certainly within the purview of a novice hiker. The view through the Retreat Meadow to the farm on the other side is quite peaceful.

For nearby restaurants, don't miss T.J. Buckley's, Three Stones, or Fireworks. We also had drinks at The Metropolis, Fireworks, and the former innkeepers' establishment, Whetstone Station -- all excellent.

Mount Snow is about a 30-minute drive away for skiing, snowboarding, tubing, and snowmobiling. The two-hour snowmobile tour is a blast -- until you're on the way back down, you don't even realize how far up into the mountains you've gone.

We will be back, and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The additional luxury and space of the Ripley Suite is well worth the added cost. The other rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyPutneyRoad, Owner at Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It was my pleasure! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast

Address: 192 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to lively downtown Brattleboro from this comfortably elegant 6 room waterside B&B. Enjoy a complimentary 2 course gourmet breakfast each morning made fresh with local ingredients. In-house pub with large selection of local craft beers and wines. Hiking trails on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Putney Road b&b
40 Putney Road Bed And Breakfast
Forty Putney Road Hotel Brattleboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty Putney Road Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.