We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Caffeine Addicts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mocha Joe

Mocha Joe
82 Main Street, Brattleboro, VT
802-257-7794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 96 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Bistro
Restaurant details
Kalapana, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For Caffeine Addicts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

So adorable this subterranean coffee shop. They are great roasters and serve up a great cup of java. I love wearing my Mocha Joe's tee shirt (unbelievable logo) when I travel 'cause every once in a while some other addict comes up to me and we relate on a level hard to explain. I have driven 100 miles out of my way to stop in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing coffee, roasted right down the street. I gave it four stars because the place is small and very few places to sit at. Also little place to stand too. I know it is their location but it does lead to frustration if your with two kids and end up standing on stairs in line.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Brattleboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Really, really good coffee...fun atmosphere, comfortable seating, occasional chess matches and a worthy collection of pastries.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, sometimes great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This used to be reliably the best coffee in town. It is still very good, but now that many lunch spots in town have good espresso machines, they need to step up the consistency, to win regulars back. The small basement location is often crowded, and the service isn't always friendly. Their beans are available to purchase.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The BEST scone I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The coffee is wonderful (get a Mocha as the name suggests!) but the SCONES are outstanding. Not dry at all and so delicious I bought another to eat later in the day. Worth paying a little extra!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mocha Joe also viewed

 

Been to Mocha Joe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mocha Joe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.