We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, good value, but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dalem's Chalet, Inc.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brattleboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalem's Chalet, Inc.
Save
You added Dalem's Chalet, Inc. to your Saves list
78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Quaint, good value, but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our journey thru VT in early Oct to see the colors. Got great prices from the internet, but made our reservations by phone. The sweet woman running the place said we didn't need a email confirmation, so we crossed our fingers. When we arrived we got the room just fine and pretty much had the place to ourselves (one other guest). The place sits on a bluff up from the main road, so noise was minimal. (The photo of the property is probably 50 years old, so the pond is totally overgrown.) The room (downstairs King) was very spacious, clean, well insulated (walls have to be 12" thick with a wood storm door for winter) with good coffee setup and refrigerator in the room, a wonderful bed but with a low ceiling (which didn't bother us at all). Wi-fi worked but sluggish. We didn't get a chance to sample the German cooking at their restaurant as it was closed that day. Overall, I have to say that this place is a good budget stop for those looking for a non-chain motel run by very friendly down-home folks close to some of the ski areas. We would definitely stay again given the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Dalem's Chalet during hurricane Irene and a year later, were very happy with the rooms, dining hall, delicious food, quaint ambience, very friendly service, kind advice about the surroundings, internet connection, adaptability to our needs. A huge wedding party was there last time, and they seemed more than comfortable and happy.This is the place to stay in the Brattleboro area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is nothing like a typical hotel chain kind of place. If that is what you are looking for, then this in not the place for you. Quiet, clean rooms with the option of suites availalble. NO frills, (except for the coffee pot, hair dryer and a t.v.) kind of place. Yes, it is an older establishment, but you will not pay the hgh, seriously overpriced rates that the chains charge. There is an authentic German Restaurant on the premises that serves home style, reasonably priced meals. Homemade fresh bread and homemade meals with a fantastic view of the mountains. A perfect place to escape for a long weekend. We have been staying here every year for the last six years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Mrs. Dalem (the owner) is quite pleasant and friendly. It is close to downtown Brattleboro and Wilmington, not to mention other towns that are close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My parents stayed here over the weekend and they had a very nice time. The previous reviews are way too harsh. My parents' room was lovely and clean, with no fancy frills (but a TV and coffee maker of course), and a beautiful view out the window. Yes, the parking lot is unpaved, but it is Vermont, and the establishment suffered some damage from Hurricane Irene last year. I didn't see any damage to anything but the parking lot.

The proprietor is very sweet and welcoming, and obviously cares a lot about her guests and her establishment. It's a family-run chalet, with tons of character, and is a much better option than the other chain motels in the area.

My boyfriend and I joined my parents for dinner in the restaurant and it was great, authentic German food. Delicious sauerkraut and Wienerschitzel and homemade Spätzle!

It's a good price, and a comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If it was not for my husbands family staying here, we would have left as soon as we walked into the smelly molding room! Just plain awful awful awful. I was up half the night because I could not breath!! ther has to be better places in this town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very sorry for any discomfort you may have had while with us. As you said, "there must be other rooms in town" but you did choose just about the least expensive one in town. We have 2 more levels in our Inn, both are more modern, have better views and are thus, more expensive. If you had come to the office, we would have been happy to move you to one of our better rooms. Many guests stay in the lower-level rooms and are quite happy with them. We hope you'll come back and try one of our upper level rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I knew right away when our party arrived in the unpaved, muddy parking lot during a rainy day that things might not be up to snuff at this Inn. It looked like we were the only people staying here. We were given a room on the first floor. The hallway was dirty and musty smelling. I unlocked the door to our room and had to put my shoulder into it to get it open. Did this place have flood damage? Our room wasn't much better. The carpet was dirty, the bedspread had a huge stain in the middle, and when we went to use the ice bucket in the room they told us there was no ice machine and that they couldn't share their ice with us. Even the alarm clock on the night stand didn't work. If it wasn't so late and we were not with a group, we would have looked elsewhere. Everything was run down, dirty and musty smelling. At night there was minimal lighting outside and the quaint church nearby ran it's bells every hour on the hour, all night long. Others in our party complained of water leaking in the roof and no air conditioning. As another reviewer wrote, this place is old, run down, not kept up and spooky.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We are terribly sorry for any discomfort. We certainly would have moved you to an upstairs room but no one ever came to the front desk to express their disappointment. We don't know anything about leaky ceilings or many of the things this customer says they encountered. We have plenty of ice. :) Of course, this is our least expensive room and possibly the least expensive in town that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The actual physical condition of this motel does not correspond with the photos on the website. We booked and paid for a night but ended up leaving before we even unloaded the car due to the poor upkeep of the parking area, stairs, bathroom and oddly spooky and dangerous interior hallway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with the appearance of our exterior. We are a small family-owned and operated business and Hurricane Irene left us with extensive damage to our parking lot and retaining walls. We have been working diligently to make repairs but the costs have been well over 100,000 dollars. The hallway behind your room is a fire escape and not usually accessed unless there's an emergency and then lights automatically come on and point the way to the nearest exit. We are very surprised that you did not find your room 100% satisfactorily clean as we get consistently good ratings from all our guests that our rooms are very clean. I'm not sure how you could have rated the "sleeping conditions" if you checked out before you "even unloaded your car" but again, we're sorry for any inconvenience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalem's Chalet, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet, Inc.

Address: 78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalem's Chalet, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.