We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family-run Chalet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalem's Chalet, Inc.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brattleboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalem's Chalet, Inc.
Save
You added Dalem's Chalet, Inc. to your Saves list
78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful family-run Chalet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My parents stayed here over the weekend and they had a very nice time. The previous reviews are way too harsh. My parents' room was lovely and clean, with no fancy frills (but a TV and coffee maker of course), and a beautiful view out the window. Yes, the parking lot is unpaved, but it is Vermont, and the establishment suffered some damage from Hurricane Irene last year. I didn't see any damage to anything but the parking lot.

The proprietor is very sweet and welcoming, and obviously cares a lot about her guests and her establishment. It's a family-run chalet, with tons of character, and is a much better option than the other chain motels in the area.

My boyfriend and I joined my parents for dinner in the restaurant and it was great, authentic German food. Delicious sauerkraut and Wienerschitzel and homemade Spätzle!

It's a good price, and a comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If it was not for my husbands family staying here, we would have left as soon as we walked into the smelly molding room! Just plain awful awful awful. I was up half the night because I could not breath!! ther has to be better places in this town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very sorry for any discomfort you may have had while with us. As you said, "there must be other rooms in town" but you did choose just about the least expensive one in town. We have 2 more levels in our Inn, both are more modern, have better views and are thus, more expensive. If you had come to the office, we would have been happy to move you to one of our better rooms. Many guests stay in the lower-level rooms and are quite happy with them. We hope you'll come back and try one of our upper level rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I knew right away when our party arrived in the unpaved, muddy parking lot during a rainy day that things might not be up to snuff at this Inn. It looked like we were the only people staying here. We were given a room on the first floor. The hallway was dirty and musty smelling. I unlocked the door to our room and had to put my shoulder into it to get it open. Did this place have flood damage? Our room wasn't much better. The carpet was dirty, the bedspread had a huge stain in the middle, and when we went to use the ice bucket in the room they told us there was no ice machine and that they couldn't share their ice with us. Even the alarm clock on the night stand didn't work. If it wasn't so late and we were not with a group, we would have looked elsewhere. Everything was run down, dirty and musty smelling. At night there was minimal lighting outside and the quaint church nearby ran it's bells every hour on the hour, all night long. Others in our party complained of water leaking in the roof and no air conditioning. As another reviewer wrote, this place is old, run down, not kept up and spooky.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We are terribly sorry for any discomfort. We certainly would have moved you to an upstairs room but no one ever came to the front desk to express their disappointment. We don't know anything about leaky ceilings or many of the things this customer says they encountered. We have plenty of ice. :) Of course, this is our least expensive room and possibly the least expensive in town that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The actual physical condition of this motel does not correspond with the photos on the website. We booked and paid for a night but ended up leaving before we even unloaded the car due to the poor upkeep of the parking area, stairs, bathroom and oddly spooky and dangerous interior hallway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with the appearance of our exterior. We are a small family-owned and operated business and Hurricane Irene left us with extensive damage to our parking lot and retaining walls. We have been working diligently to make repairs but the costs have been well over 100,000 dollars. The hallway behind your room is a fire escape and not usually accessed unless there's an emergency and then lights automatically come on and point the way to the nearest exit. We are very surprised that you did not find your room 100% satisfactorily clean as we get consistently good ratings from all our guests that our rooms are very clean. I'm not sure how you could have rated the "sleeping conditions" if you checked out before you "even unloaded your car" but again, we're sorry for any inconvenience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

While visiting Vermont for a recent family reunion, so glad I chose to stay at Dalem's Chalet...attentive and responsive service adds to the charm of the already warm, old-world atmosphere, complete with wood beam construction in dining and guest rooms (ceilings)...walk the grounds and watch the sunrise over the church steeple and nearby waterwheel, use the outdoor pool (in season), all while surrounded by the beauty of the lush, tree-filled mountains...summer/fall/winter/spring, this is a gracious, comfortable experience, especially when compared to the chain hotel/motels in the area--in fact, Dalem's should have its own 5th season: Anytime!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view--upstairs or down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I used the Dalem's Chalet for our wedding reception, and it was everything we could have asked for and more. Mrs. Dalem helped us with everything we could possibly need, she was very friendly and flexible. The upstairs hall was great and the views were awesome!!!

It happened to be a very hot, late September day, so having the outdoor decks was a great thing.

The room rates were very reasonable as many of our family members and friends stayed in the rooms and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Now we plan on going up to Brattleboro every September 24 and staying at Dalem's for our anniversary.

Thank you to the entire Dalem’s Chalet staff for making our day so special!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Upon arrival, we approached the counter to check in only to find out our reservation we made online was not an actual reservation for the actual room we booked. The reservation print out we brought listed the exact room and price expected to receive, however, the lady behind the counter was adament that the particular room reserved was not available. This was a big disappointment as we had reserved a room on the top floor and with a private porch. We ended up in a room on the lower floor with no porch access. In fact, we had a second door in the room that entered into a dark unlit hallway.

When we tried explaining to the lady that we had made a reservation for a specific room she was not accomodating in the least bit. She began to get frustrated with us the more we questioned it.

Thankfully we didn't have to pay the same rate as the room we reserved, we'd paid less because the other room was on a lower floor with no porch. I just don't understand why she could take a reservation but then not keep it, that's the most important part!

The room was clean and the views were nice. The TV didn't work at first, then we realized the plug was hanging out of the outlet, which also was exposed with no plate on it. TV was poor quality - but manageable. It was easy to get to and was wonderfully decorated. The hassle of dealing with the innkeeper was not pleasant and was very unfortunate. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Be flexible on what room you want. Or call ahead, perhaps that would help?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, Inc., responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience. This happens to be the busiest season of the year in Vermont. Our on-line reservation system is not always updated with reservations taken over the phone. This happens very rarely but since it is the busiest time of year, it happens sometimes. I tried my best to be accomodating and tried to explain the situation.

We are happy that you were happy with the views and cleanliness of the room. If we had known there were any problems with the switchplate cover we certainly would of taken care of it immediately. We need to be notified so we can make the repairs.

We hope you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalem's Chalet, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet, Inc.

Address: 78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalem's Chalet, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.