We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly excellent Japanese and Chinese cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panda North

Panda North
1332 Putney Rd., Brattleboro, VT 05301
802-257-4578
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent Japanese and Chinese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This was the only restaurant within walking distance of my hotel, and I wasn't in the mood for Asian cuisine, but the desk clerk recommended it highly. I'm very glad I followed her suggestion! The place was full of locals (it's not in the touristy part of Brat.). The menu is extensive -- I had one of their Japanese lunch boxes, which was truly excellent. The prices are extremely reasonable, and the food quality and preparation are those one would expect in a major metro area. This place was a real out-of-beaten track find for me in Brattleboro. Very highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Mass.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Panda North”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I found Panda North to be underwhelming, uninspired Chinese food. Also, the setting was a bit drab, especially the room we sat in. I do not plan to return there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Brattleboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The food is the best, Chinese or otherwise. The service is also top notch. Too many good dishes to mention, we try something new most times we visit and have never been disappointed.
A family favorite for a couple decades now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having enjoyed Chinese and Japanese cuisine in many major cities, Brattleboro's Panda North is far superior to many of the best in Chinatown! While the restaurant exterior may be off putting to some, inside you will find a modern, though small sushi bar, tables set with clean, pressed white linens and a pleasant ambiance. The service is prompt, attentive and efficient. The drinks are strong and the food outstanding. We have become regulars and in 10 years have never had a bad experience. I highly recommend Panda North!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife & I stopped for lunch after the locals spoke highly of their food. We were not disappointed. The shrimp lomein and pork fried rice were just delicious. I personally think their hot & sour soup is one of the best on the planet. A must visit if you have a hankering for Chinese.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panda North also viewed

 

Been to Panda North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panda North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.