We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Black Mountain Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   959 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05031 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Brattleboro
South Pomfret, VT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here after work one night. I checked in at about 8:30 without a reservation expecting a $50 room (they have a big sign outside indicating cheap rooms). They had no singles, so I had to pay much more for a king-sized bed. At that time of night you would think they would give me a deal just to fill the place. I should have left. Carpet was dirty, blanket had a stain on it, the walkway to my second floor room felt like it was getting ready to collapse. They did offer breakfast which consisted of some some hostess donuts and coffee and a few other things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have competitively priced single bed rooms, as you noted advertised on the sign. I am sorry that our economy 1 Double Bed rooms were filled when you arrived,but without a reservation those room types are often unavailable as they are a budget minded customer favorite. The king rooms are offered at a best available discounted rate in the later evening hours;however, we cannot rent them at the rate code for the deeply discounted economy 1 double bed. The king bed rooms are more than double the size of the economy rooms and do carry extra and upgraded furnishings, in addition to in room coffee makers and Evergreen technology with water and air filtration. I apologize that your guest room blanket was stained. We did have the king rooms' carpets shampooed in light of your complaint. Once again, thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback in hopes to continue to grow and satisfy our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is located about 10 min drive north of downtown, which I should've guessed from the rock bottom price. I was looking for a place to sleep, no frills, super cheap.

Room is a basic budget room, but furnished by a sadistic @#$%. The tv is on the dresser/desk combo, but located above the desk leg holes instead of the dresser part, so you can't sit and use a computer. A second chair took up the floor space needed to reach and open the minifridge. You can't reach the main room light switch from the door. It's like it was designed purposely to annoy people.

Room was clean, front desk friendly, continental breakfast nothing but starches, as most places are. Bed a bit lumpy but sleepable. Great super budget place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our America's Best Inn. We value your time and comments and are pleased to hear that you felt we were a good value. We try to accomodate our guest with affordability and useful in room amenities lile microwave,mini fridge,hairdryers and Directv with a premium movie channel. Our economy one double bed room is well equipped for its size. It seems the furniture configuration in your guestroom was a little more than the space could provide. In lieu of your comments, we have removed one of the extra chairs in order to provide more floor space. Once again, thank you for your positive review. We do hope to see you again when your travel plan permit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed there one night on our way back from Canada and should have kept driving into Massachusetts despite it being late. We had no advance reservations because we didn't know where we would end up (I usually research places before I leave home). This was absolutely the worst/dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. There was an old used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod and a heavy soap ring on the side of the tub. The vent didn't work in the bathroom which might have helped disperse the smell of urine. The shower curtain was dirty, and the floor in front of the sink felt as though you would fall through it. There was no way I would even consider using the shampoo from the dispenser on the wall. The carpet hadn't been thoroughly vacuumed and the top of the nightstand had a sticky residue all over it. Everything just seemed dirty. Our friends in another room mentioned some of the same problems, and even though we both stayed in non-smoking rooms, one of their blankets looked like swiss cheese with cigarette burn holes all over. Our non-smoking room had an ash-can right outside the door. To add insult to injury, we were charged $127 for the night even though the motel sign quoted "from $49.99." When asked if there were AARP or senior rates, she said her price was the going rate (tripadvisor site shows $57, and most hotels/motels in town run arount $50-$70). I guess the price just keeps going up with less vacacancies. Sure, we would have expected to pay that rate for the Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express in town, but certainly not for this place. I have no problems staying at places that need updated, but it absolutely has to be clean - this was not.

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvdabch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed there this weekend July 13-15. If it wasn't for the fact that we had 20 of us all there I would've left. The room was dirty, carpets looked like they never vacuumed,weird smell coming from the AC unit, at least it ran and the room was cool since it was 87 out side. My daughter took a towel off the rack and it fell off. Bed cover had burn holes in it. Only redemption they let us stay by the pool till 9:30,pool closes at 9. The lady at the counter was really nice. My other daughter stayed in a different room didn't like the smell opened the window which fell out and hit her in the eye. Paid $92 per night for it. Not worth it at all. At least we were there with our family which made it fun. Bathroom had no plugs in the tub or sink. It was the tough mudder weekend so finding another place would've been difficult at the last moment. Put stuff in mini frig and rack fell off. Good thing was Dominos delivered pizzas to us at the pool! Pool time was a good time. The remote control for the tv Was duct taped so the batteries wouldn't fall out!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Talking with our family and friends they all had issues with their rooms. My co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The guest room you were in had the rugs shampooed recently, perhaps that was the smell that you noted. We are pleased that your room was cool upon check in as it has been extremely hot and we have turned on our air conditioners prior to check in for our guests' comfort. The towel rack in your guestroom has been repaired. Customer service is our hallmark,and had we known of any issues you experienced we would have attended to them immediately. Our manager held off closing the pool on time so that you and your family could enjoy it on that hot evening-we are happy to hear it was appreciated. Considering it was a special event weekend,many of our franchise competitors raised rates to astronomical heights,we did not do this. Many guests arrived that weekend,explaining to our staff that hotels close by were charging up to 40% more with no pool and several other accomadations we have free of charge including microwve,refriderator,Directv with Encore and wifi. Although we were not able to accomodate you fully, we do appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wow!! What a hole! It measures up to a lot of these independently owned motels with thread bare towels, smells and cleanliness. It6's cheap and that's the best you can say.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lorin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special but clean and completely useable. Good enough for the one night stay we needed it for. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the heater/AC worked well.

The bathroom was, again, nothing special but clean and useable. Would have been nice if there was some shampoo provided - kind of a normal expectation in a hotel.

The location was great for us. Near by to a nice restaurant.
Breakfast in the am was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for review. We are pleased to hear that you found the heat/ac unit to work well as we have recently replaced half the hotels' units with these new, made in the US, energy efficient units that run quiet! We do provide shampoo and conditioner in our guest rooms in environmentally friendly dispensers in lieu of paper and plastic individual packets. I am sorry your guestroom lacked the shampoo as it must have been a housekeeping oversight. It is important for us to provide our guests useful amenities in an environmentally conscious way as we are a certified green hotel. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Checked in at 1am with a friendly and accommodating gentleman. Bathrooms needed a good scrub, uncomfortable beds. A nice mini fridge to store our cooler food. Lame continental breakfast (mini bagels, the end), though the lady who put out said bagels was sweet. 77bucks total, so we got what we paid for but won't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StillaBenningtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#8 of 12 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05031 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing