We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery

Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery
36 Bridge St, Brattleboro, VT 05301
+1 802-490-2354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 96 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery combines a large casual restaurant and open air rooftop bier garten, with a small experimental nano-brewery, all located right on the Connecticut River in Vermont. We offer an "inspired pub fare" style menu, with everything from small bites for a few bucks to full entrees. Along with one, always changing unique craft beer of their own they offer dozens of guest craft beers on draft and specialty drinks, all in an amazing waterfront location. The unique round building has been restored into a beautiful fire-lit space with a contemporary and industrial vibe. Indoor and outdoor dining, perched above the river, alongside a steel bridge and nestled between the green mountains make the amazing location a "don't miss" on any visit through Vermont.
Northfield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After a hot & sweaty morning of helping friends move out of their 3rd floor apt, we were treated to lunch at Whetstone. I had always driven by and wanted to try the place, since the new owners, because it's right on the river with a deck to eat outside, my favorite ambiance.

I wanted to love it. Unfortunately, our experience with the food, drinks & service was sub-par. We ordered their "signature" drink, a "Jar-garita" which is a margarita in a ball jar. Too much sour mix. We make them better at home. Not refreshing. Although the menu offers several gluten-free beers, there were no gluten-free options on the menu, except of course for salad. They were able to make my fish tacos on corn tortillas, but the tortillas were not first steamed to soften them. The blackened fish was good, however.

The restaurant was not super busy, but we had to wait a LONG time for the food to arrive.

The view is gorgeous, I love outdoor eating, but I doubt I will go back to this place. My friend's salad was bitter. They also mixed up two of our orders.

Disappointing. I wanted to love it there. :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrady, Owner at Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
As a brewery, our "signature drink" is of course our house brewed craft beer! :-) Sorry you didn't like the jar-garita. As for gluten free options, we can actually make any item on our menu gluten free, and even have dedicated kitchen equipment for gluten free prep. I will be sure to pass on the corn tortilla tip to the kitchen as well. We're sorry that you didn't have an awesome first experience with us, but hope that you'll give us another shot - no hot and sweaty help moving a friend from their 3rd floor apartment required next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    131
    45
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albie02
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

good very good
beautiful views of river
great selection of beer
parking limited
but additional across the street

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Casual Restaurant/Brewery in Downtown Brattleboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited this restaurant while visiting Brattleboro for business. The restaurant has a very nice casual vibe and atmosphere and the views of the river are awesome. The menu is simple, but packed with many items that I would eat. I had the Brewer's Burger with Vermont Cheddar Cheese and it was great. I ordered it medium rare and that's exactly how it came. The beer selection is diverse with a vast selection of local brews coupled with unique brews from across the US. They also had one of their own brews on tap and that's what I tried. I highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Brattleboro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I heard about it, tried it, and liked it. The ambiance is great, the servers were helpful and friendly. The food took a little longer than anticipated, however, it tasted good when it got there.

Whetstone is located right by the river, the view is great inside or out on the patio. I'd highly recommend this place for lunch, dinner, drinks or date night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we called up Whetstone to see if we could reserve, as we were on 91 passing through Brattleboro, they told us the main dining room was closed but the beer garden was open. We weren't sure what to expect, but were so glad we went there. The beer garden is a lovely, hip roof deck overlooking the CT river and the view was amazing. It was buzzing and we didn't feel like waiting for a table, so we sat at the bar.

The food was solid pub type fare, not amazing, but pretty good. We didn't care; the view was so nice. We started with the cheddar ale soup which was really tasty. Then my husband had the sirloin tips which he really liked. My falaffel was good, but not great. Again, go for the ambiance!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whetstone Station Restaurant and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.