We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has two pools” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Motel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Motel & Spa to your Saves list
Colonial Motel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   889 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Brattleboro
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Has two pools”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just picked this place out because it was there and we wanted a pool. It has two pools and indoor and an outdoor. The pools were kept up, the rooms were dated but clean and had a small refrigerator in them. It is a fair price for this stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    19
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall it was a fine stay. However, we booked this location to use the pool. There were many times that were not available for use by motel guests and many rules. The pool itself is wonderful. The bed we had was uncomfortable and I actually woke up unable to turn my head-that never happens!!!

Room Tip: Update your website to reflect the terms of use for the pool so people know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything with my stay was fine, right up until I checked out. I get an unauthorized charge on my credit card for $100.00, then I got a voice mail from someone at the Motel stating that if I did not come down to pay them an ADDITIONAL $350 they were going to call the police, the best part of that voice mail is when the women said "We know where you live." She was trying to threaten and intimidate me into giving them money for something I did not do. They said in the voice mail that I smoked in the room, I don't even smoke so how would that have happened? The second issue is they are saying blood EVERYWHERE was the word they used, including on the walls, towels, and bedspreads. That one just doesn't make any sense. I have sent them an email in regards to getting my $100 they illegally took of my card back, and am waiting for a response. But here is what I think happened:

As I was packing up my vehicle one of the housekeepers asked me if I was leaving I said yes and that I was going to bring the keys to the desk now. She said oh no, there is no need. She informed me that I could just leave the door ajar, and place the keys on the table by the door. No I followed her instructions to the letter. IF what they are saying is even TRUE, which after being threatened I am starting to doubt it. But someone must of gone into the room after I left and did whatever ro mess the place up, because when I left the room was actually quite clean. I also left around 8 am, and they must not have gone into the room until around 11 am, because at 1105 am they charged me an additional $100, luckily I only had $110 on that debit card, or I am sure I would be fighting to get back $450,

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, General Manager at Colonial Motel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Raztaz88

Thank you for taking the time to discusses this with me via our email conversations. It is disappointing to read your remarks as we are a very warm hearted, caring, respectful hospitality establishment that goes out of our way to accommodate our guests. Majority of the reviews prior to your review are positive and do echo a friendly and caring staff. If you would like to speak further regarding this matter please email me.

Sincerely,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This was a random choice, we just needed a night in Vermont on our road trip. Turned out pretty good though. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, probably the best in the 5 hotels we stayed in. We were in the back in the one story line of rooms and got to back in right in front of our door. It was nice to have a mini fridge in the room too. The only downside was some strange noises, but it was snow storming outside so who knows what it was. The gal at the front desk was super nice and we didn't have any issues checking in or out. Don't expect much for the breakfast - just had coffee and some weird looking muffins that I didn't try.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed overnight while traveling through the area. Older building, but remodeled to be very clean and comfortable. Soap dispensers by sink and shower were great. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Light breakfast bar was a welcome perk. We didn't make it into the pool, but did check it out - very nice. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

You are greeted with a smile and given and actual room key, while the enticing smells make you feel like you've just come home. The rooms are average, the toilet paper holder was broken and there is nowhere to hang your coat. But honestly, I always want to come back. The beds are comfortable and clean, as are the rooms. I can walk to my room feeling safe and aside from the retro kookiness of the place, I can't image staying anywhere else when I come to Brattleboro. What ever you are doing or not doing, I count on always coming back to a familiar place to rest my traveler's head. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

So I made a big mistake. We decided to head up to VT a day early, so I booked this place on a whim. I relied on reviews from one site but failed to check other sites that spoke the truth.

Upon walking into the main check in area, it was warm and cozy with a wood stove burning so I felt pretty optimistic. I now realize however... This place is pretty nasty. While the rooms are rather spacious and not as bad as some others (definitely outdated). The indoor stairway areas to get to the second floor are heinous. If you're on the first floor and don't need to go into these areas, consider yourself lucky.

The indoor stairwell areas have horribly stained carpets, chipped paint all over the walls and linens all stashed into a corner on the floor downstairs (is this where the hotel staff keeps them?). Totally disgusting! I've paid less than the $98 I spent here and have received much more in the past at other places.

In terms of the room -
Pros:
- Coffee maker (didn't expect it at this place)
- Small Refrigerator
- Shower pressure was good

Cons:
- One of the main lights didn't work
- Bed wasn't very comfortable. Woke up a lot.

While I wasn't expecting much due to the low price, the photos I saw everywhere made this place to be much better. I didn't check out the pool area which I heard from other reviews was the only redeeming quality. Will probably avoid this place next time and spring for something a little nicer. This town is too cute to rate your experience on with a place like this.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Motel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel & Spa

Address: 889 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Motel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Motel & Spa is located in Brattleboro, Vermont. Our rooms range from standard to executive suites and offer FREE wireless internet, air-conditioning, cable TV with HBO and free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonial Motel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel And Spa
Colonial Hotel Brattleboro
Colonial Motel Brattleboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Motel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.