We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good cinnamon rolls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chickering Drive, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Brattleboro
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good cinnamon rolls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The best thing about a Holiday Inn is their breakfast - love the cinnamon buns. Breakfast has a selection of foods that beats some other chain hotels. The room was suitable but just not really clean. Chairs in the dining area showed lack of attention to detail when cleaning, there is no excuse for rungs on chairs being noticeably dirty. Even though it was October 18-19, 2013 and high tourist season for "leaf peepers" the price at this hotel was very high. Stayed in one other chain hotel and one "Mom & Pop" hotel on a week long trip plus this Holiday Inn and this was our least favorite hotel - not as clean and higher price.

There is a good New York Pizza restaurant a short drive from the hotel in the parking lot of the grocery store strip mall near this hotel. Enjoyed a pizza one evening since there is no restaurant at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in cleanliness here at the Holiday Inn Express, Brattleboro. This is something we take great pride in and try to keep up with. We are currently going through many upgrades and hope that you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    102
    27
    21
    12
See reviews for
76
62
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There's a danger in tarring every hotel in a chain with the same brush. To say, all Holiday Inn Expresses are wonderful or awful, above or below average wouldn't be fair - if you had stayed in only one hotel in the chain. However...
Holiday Inn Expresses SEEM to hold so much promise. They are, without fail, well-located and easy to find, and appear, from the exterior, modern and clean, with ample parking.
Inside, it is a different story. With only one exception, we encountered front-line staff who were young (very young in many instances) unable to make decisions or respond appropriately to situations and lacking in confidence. The hotel's decor was interesting, with a modernist feel. If it had actually been CLEAN, we may have enjoyed it. From the moment we entered the lobby, the dirt and accumulated dead leaves only served to (slightly) distract us from the grease stains, bleach spots (with the attempted remedy of removing bits of carpeting and leaving bald patches). Same in the elevators, down the halls and in the rooms. Yes, carpeting is expensive, but it is also one of the first things patrons look at. Elevators were very dirty and looked as if they hadn't been vacuumed in many days. When asked about this, front desk staff cited the busyness of the staff, hotel, etc. I may say that many times when I was hoisting a large number of boxes and bags (more about that later) that staff were busy talking, socializing and doing nothing much. Check in was not fun: a limited number of trolleys were available. We waited a long while for one. I finally scanned all the hallways, hoping to find a stray. No result. I asked the front desk staff. No help there. As I had a large number of quite heavy boxes/pieces of luggage to haul, I was quite insistent. No help. After five trips up (unassisted, by even the opening of a door!) I entered the room. Same carpeting problems. Long black hair in bed. Looked as if the bed had not been made (I still have my doubts). Yes, part of our stay was comped - only part - but the excuses went on and on.
As this is only one of the many Holiday Inn Express stories we have to tell (the excellent Hampton Inn was booked) we feel we have given this chain all the chance they deserve.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I do apologize that your stay did not hold up to your expectations. Customer service and cleanliness is something we take great pride in. Although October is one of our busiest months this is not an excuse. I do hope you do not give up on the brand of Holiday Inn, we all try our hardest to make your stay feel as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we originally booked this room, we were a bit surprised by the relatively high price for an evening stay. But it was fall foliage season, and this was the best option near Brattleboro. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with this hotel. Our large, spacious room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and meticulously clean and fresh.

The complimentary breakfast included the standard variety of toast, muffins, cereals, etc., plus cheese omelets and sausage that were freshly made and quite good.

The receptionist was extremely courteous and helpful. We asked her about nearby quality restaurants, and she recommended The Marina. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We truly enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Albert & Family,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Brattleboro and for all the wonderful compliments. I will defiantly share this review with all of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday inn Express in Brattleboro for three nights for a family wedding. We had about fifteen rooms. It was one of the best places I have ever stayed in all my travels. Everyone said how great it was.
The staff was so accommodating. They made sure every request was met including letting many of us check in early upon arrival. The breakfast that was offered each morning delighted each guest. Everyone had so much to eat and it was delicious. They even had cider and donuts at night. Buses arrived two of the nights we were there and you would never know that a busload had just arrived. The staff worked quickly and efficiently. The rooms were very comfortable extremely clean which is very important to me. We also had some elderly relatives with us and they were very helpful to them. The breakfast room we used at night to visit and have gatherings - it was like it was our home, which is more than we could have asked for.
The price was also great. We had looked at other places in Brattleboro when we had gone to the area to book the wedding and none of them came even close to customer service that was offered at the Holiday inn! Special Thanks to the manager ,Steve, you know how to make your guests happy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your pleasant review. Steve is an asset to this company and I'm happy to hear that he went above and beyond the call of duty. Please come stay at your 'home away from home'.

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Holiday Inn was unexpectedly pleasant. It was clean and efficient, and the staff were quite friendly. The breakfast was adequate. This place is bargain for foliage season. It's quiet, and centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to having you back soon!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the nicest hotel around if you are staying in Brattleboro. We went for leaf-peeping and were very happy with out second stay at this hotel. Our previous stay was Oct.2011. Clean rooms are very important to me and I was not disappointed. The bedding was crisp and clean and room decor was nice. The staff was always friendly when we entered and left the hotel. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because we went to the Dam Diner at the Townsend Dam instead. I did go down for coffee before leaving for breakfast and the selection looked like the usual fare, yogurt, muffins and bagels. My only minor disappointment was that there was no apple cider and donuts in the lobby when we returned from dinner. When we stayed 2 years ago there was and it made a good impression on my husband and myself at the time. On this trip we took along another couple and talked up the nice muffins and cider on the way up. There were fresh cookies on the front desk, Coffee and tea were always available and that was a nice touch. Next time I'm in the area I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Face the grassy area in the back of the hotel away from the parking lot for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry for no apple cider and donuts. We will look into reintroducing this amenity during the foliage season. Please come visit soon and we will definitely have this amenity waiting for you with a smile! Thanks for your feedback!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

At this hotel we had a really fantastic room, complete with a full-sized Jaccuzzi in the main part of the room. The welcome at reception was ok and the room and the bed were clean and comfortable. The choice at breakfast was rather limited, even for a Holiday Inn Express, but we managed to find sufficient food to satisfy our needs. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property on TA. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit soon!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 Chickering Drive, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brattleboro is ' All of Vermont and close to home.' We are conveniently located near five major ski areas such as Mount Snow, canoeing, kayaking and antique shops and the new Grafton Cheese Factory. At the end of the day come back and relax in one of our up to date rooms. We offer rooms with two queen beds or one king bed. Maybe a room with a private Jacuzzi is what your looking for or maybe a family suite is for you. Sit back watch a movie on our new flat screen TVs. All rooms offer refrigerators and microwaves. Remember to enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a great selection of hot and cold breakfast items. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Brattleboro, VT and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Brattleboro
Holiday Inn Express Brattleboro
Holiday Inn Brattleboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.