We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Surf & Turf Restaurant in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New England House

The New England House
254 Marlboro Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9724
802-254-6886
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 95 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
West Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Surf & Turf Restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Whether it's for a Special Occasion or just an excellent meal, this is the place! Add to it the atmoshere and character and you'll be very happy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steak your claim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have gone to many so call steak houses and they have sometime some difficulty cooking it and I always tell them if you served it on hoof, they would have no complaints from me. As you walked into the lobby you are greeted by a very personnel young lady. The waitress was very attentive. They do everything they could to make your time there very pleasant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great food, big rush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The New England House has a great atmosphere that reminds one of a rustic pub. The menu is varied and the steaks are first rate. Overall a wonderful meal. However, from the time we arrived, our party of 4 felt rushed. It's not as though there was a waiting line behind us. We wanted a leisurely dinner where we could catch up. We even told our server this. Perhaps it was an effort to give good service. But, We were asked if we were all done before one of our group had finished eating, and presented with a bill before any mention of desert or coffee. The place had emptied out, but we were assured there was a long time to closing time. It took some of the shine off a good meal. Perhaps they just need to revisit the difference between attentive service, and rushed service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our destination for fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I live in Northern MA, less than an hour driving time from here. When we're in the mood for a good meal, we make this trip. We've never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Dinner Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I went to The New England House for dinner to get out of town for the night (we're from MA). The restaurant is beautiful, perfect old New England style with pretty landscaping and very friendly wait staff. The food was delicious from the Littleneck Clams appetizer special to the perfectly cooked steaks and the AMAZING roasted garlic potatoes (best ever!)...even the salad was great, very fresh and crisp and the blue cheese dressing was awesome. Highly recommended, our only regret is that we didn't realize until we were leaving that they have a beautiful outdoor dining area on their deck...we're going back soon to dine outside! Thanks for a great night New England House!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New England House also viewed

 

Been to The New England House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New England House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.