We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What should I expect for $80?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Latchis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Latchis Hotel to your Saves list
Latchis Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Main St., Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Brattleboro
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What should I expect for $80?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The Good - Nice downtown location, well stocked continental breakfast, $80 for twin room per night, small 20 spot free parking lot out back, free wifi

The Bad - dated room, moldy bathroom ceiling, no outlets in bathroom, rock hard bed, noisy hallways

I wouldn’t stay here again, the room was dingy. This is an old building, but small things could be done to spruce up the rooms a bit.

I just had to laugh, after taking a shower and getting continually dripped on by the condensation that accumulated on the exposed sprinkler pipe along the ceiling.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    39
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
102
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We quite enjoyed our stay at the Latchis Hotel. If you appreciate the charm of staying in a historical building, complete the quirks thereof, in the heart of a thriving smalltown, the Latchis is charming. You will not find the Victorian overload of many B&Bs, and therefore the art deco style may seem austere. Rooms were spacious and colorful. Yes, beds were not the pillow-topped and the window shades need some patching, but we enjoyed knowing that the rate for our lavender room helped pay for further restoration. Take in a movie in the connected movie palace after supper at the brewpub, bring your sleeping mask and prepare to enjoy a piece of history in this early entertainment complex. Continental breakfast was included, but we enjoyed one of the bakery cafes around the corner.

Shower: correcting a previous reviewer who claimed that the bathroom did not include a showerhead. The Koehler fixtures do indeed look like unfinished plumbing, but if you turn on the water, you will see that the sprayer is hidden within the pipe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

A nice alternative to chains...it has character, nice lobby, simple rooms, big bathrooms, great breakfast, funky town.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

In the 1930's, businessmen who traveled, looked for convenient, clean, comfortable hotels where they could get a good meal and a nights sleep. The Latchis has an institutional feel with its coldly functional terrazzo floors and original plumbing fixtures. The room furniture would have been found in less affluent homes of that period. There are no thermostats in the rooms as they are zoned by floor and controlled by the front desk. You couldn't ask for a better location for proximity to the town which offers a lively mix of restaurants and shops. What is most exciting here is the Latchis offer of 2 movie passes to the outragously ornate movie theater next door and a $50 certificate to diner at the bistro down the street ; all for an extra 20 bucks. If you're not overly demanding and don't need lavish hotels and service to be happy, this is a fun choice. The local arts council actually runs the hotel and seems to have great influence over Brattleboro. We spoke to a lot of locals and their love for this little town is infectious. If you can lower your bar of expectations a bit, you too will find this small town Vermont experience most charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I live in Vermont and while on business to Brattleboro chose the Latchis because it has been an important preservation project for the state. I believe they are slowly, room by room, doing the full renovations, so when I chose the least expensive room available ($90/two twin beds), I didn't expect an art deco palace. What I did get was a very clean room with fully equipped and clean bathroom, with a window overlooking a small brook and the mountains around Bratteboro. Yes, the chairs and desk need to be stripped and refinihsed, but they are the original maple furniture, and the place is being restored as dollars are available. Which is why I'm giving them my small contribution by staying here and recommending it...

THe location is tops: it is in the town center, with several shops and restaurants to choose from, and Brattleboro food coop (with a full organic salad bar) is across the brook, accessible by a charming pedestrian bridge. In-room free, wireless high-speed internet!

I try to stay, when possible, in owner-occupied inns and B&Bs, and the old downtown hotels...But I do notice when a place is not clean, and the Latchis is clean and well maintained, not just a faded glory.

THe staff was welcoming and helpful, too

Next time I'll spring for one of the more expensive rooms to see the full extent of the renovation. BUt for the money, it is SO much better experience than the other choices in town (Super 8, Ramada, etc) If you want sterile and predictable, go to Hampton Inn....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We arrived early, but thankfully this was no problem for the friendly receptionist. The hotel has a lovely art deco style. There was a little noise at night from the guests walking up the corridoors as there is no carpet in them. The rooms were large and clean. Hotel is well positioned for walking round Brattleboro. Also the breakfast, included was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Wilmington Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed one night at the hotel and loved it. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The free high speed internet was great. We enjoyed the breakfast and the front desk staff was very helpful. Free parking was great. Lots of great restaurants to choose from including a brew pub and restaurant in same building. Don't believe the negative reviews posted. This hotel has character. I use TripAdvisor to pick hotels when we travel and I expect and appreciate negative reviews of places that we are going to stay in and places that we have stayed. They warn people with the same tastes who demand the cookie cutter blandness of a faceless chain to stay away from gems like this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latchis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchis Hotel

Address: 50 Main St., Brattleboro, VT 05301
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Latchis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Latchis Hotel and Theatre, Southern Vermont's Art Deco treasure at the corner of Main and Flat Streets in Brattleboro, Vermont. The Latchis is easily accessible from I-91, Route 9, and Route 5, and provides a wonderful setting for vacation, business, and corporate travel needs.Our accommodations range from economical Twin to Full Suites, as well as a conference facility options. We offer free High Speed wireless Internet in all guestrooms, as well as business services including copy, fax, mail, and internet printing through our Guest Services. Our large windowed Lobby Cafe is the perfect spot to relax, check your email or people watch. Brattleboro has an active Main Street with plenty to see, do and eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Latchis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchis Hotel Brattleboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latchis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.