We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch movies in your slippers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Latchis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Latchis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Latchis Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Main St., Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Brattleboro
Newmarket
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Watch movies in your slippers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pros- Awesome movie theater! Convenient downtown location. Luckily I returned to the room to get something before the movie started and noticed the room was sweltering. Luckily I could turn the radiator off. Great advice from the front desk for restaurants.
Cons- Noisy street traffic. Many trucks, snowplows clearing sidewalks until midnight with their little beep beeps going everytime they backed up. Bring ear plugs. Shower was hard to get in and out of and for some people the floor is old and may be a turn off.

Would definitely return but would take a room on the back. We thought the noise wouldn't be an issue but we were wrong. It is a main thoroughfare!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back off the street even if you have no view or wear ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatchisManager, Manager at Latchis Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I appreciate your review and as the manager, let me respond to some of your points.

We are very proud of our level of service to each and every guest, thank you for that feedback.
Heating control can be an issue with any older or historic building. We do our best. Each radiator does have it's own control which the guest can adjust.

In any urban setting where an accommodation faces a street one can and should expect street noise of varying levels. If this is disruptive to the persons' relaxation or sleep they should not choose a room facing the streetscape or they may ask for an alternative room. We are always happy to oblige. Please don't give the hotel bad marks, we cannot control the street noise.

The bathroom floors are historic, yes, they are 75 year old terrazzo that was hand poured and honed. We are proud of our lovely antiquity and ur guests love it! Hard getting in and out of the shower, perhaps... our tubs are 75 year old "soaking tubs" that have higher sides than the modern "normal". Perfect for soothing and relaxing aqua-therapy. Bring your bubble bath!

AS an added amenity, we offer the use of our "sound spa" units to create a relaxing mask from outside sounds. Guests really like them even in the quiet rooms. Just an added amenity we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
97
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but clean, spacious, friendly and perfectly located. Would return in a heartbeat. Charming as the town itself. Skip the breakfast buffet and walk up the street to one of the great coffee shops. And be sure to check out the theater!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel from the Internet, so we didn't know exactly what the hotel was like. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady at Reception. When going up to our room on the second floor, it was like walking back in time. Beautifully restored interior, with furniture and décor that suited the hotels era. It is situated in the main street, right in the heart of town, so there is no need to drive anywhere. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
While you are in Brattleboro, I would highly recommend a visit to Sam's for clothing and camping gear, just up the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Latchis Hotel and downtown Brattleboro, VT, are treasures. I stayed there last week for a board meeting. The building is impressive Art Deco and includes a first rate movie theater (one large screen in a grand historic theater plus 3 smaller screens; Argo was playing). The rooms are most comfortable while simple (we'd paid $95 including free continental breakfast, parking and wifi). Nice conference room. The staff is special; thus, when after a couple of days I realized I'd left my iPad charger in the electrical socket of my room and phoned the hotel, the staff had it in their lost and found and is mailing it to me!

The Latchis is in the center of a surprisingly delightful downtown. Brattleboro (about 12,000) sits on the banks of the Connecticut River, with wonderful views. Thus, the Whetstone Station (very good restaurant and bar) has decks projecting almost over the river. I walked around in the morning and found a neat coffee shop (Mocha Joe's Coffee Roasters), the Hotel Pharmacy in a Victorian Church, and huge independent sports and hardware stores. (Friends were visiting a special clothing/gift shop.) We later toured the new state-of-the art food Coop with its striking architecture, green technology, impressive food selection and in-house eating. All is highly walkable, including small bridges and pedestrian ways over the West River and along the Connecticut.

If you like exploring a real downtown, with its architecture intact, local businesses, and friendly folks, this is a natural. Brattleboro is located in the SE corner of Vermont - an easy exit off I 91.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived in Brattleboro and mistakenly went to the chain hotels looking for something good value. They were so awful so, feeling stressed, we looked on Tripadvisor and saw the Latchis so thought we'd check it out. The receptionist was so friendly and helpful so we checked in for one night. We got a great value twin room without the beautiful view (you can pay a bit extra for that which is probably worth it). The room is clean and still keeps the art deco charm. The location is perfect for a wander round the town then a trip to the brew pub next door which serves the most amazing food and beer. I would certainly say this place is full of character and excellent value for money. Parking is also included as they can give you a permit at reception. Don't forget to have a peep in the theatre too! It is fabulous!

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget, pay for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We could not believe it, when we drove up! We love this sort of thing and had no idea when we booked this "hotel" that we would step back in time with service, that is the best around. Everyone we ran into, from the front desk, to the maintainence man who allowed us to step into the theatre, the son of the housekeeper, the theatre attendant, the bartender and even the guests we some of the nicest people we met our entire trip.
The rooms are outdated but that's the point. I think it is charming because it was clean. It is located right in the center of downtown with a theatre and pub with local brews attatched. No need to step out in the rain, all are accessible from the hotel. :) Enjoyed a movie, while sitting in a very ornate old theatre, & some "old school" movie popcorn. The mattress was questionable but we both slept great.
The complimentry continental breakfast is decent. Upon leaving, we were once again taken back by the friendliness at the front desk (different girl).
I know this is for travelers but I would like to thank the Latchis Staff for their kindness and attention to detail! My hope is that you receive the same, ten-fold. With deep gratitude, The Fitz's.

Room Tip: If you need air-conditioning, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you can afford the big vanilla hotels, but search out the unusual. Feel uncomfortable in someone’s home/b&b. I would recommend this little hotel. Ours was a large room, #203 I believe, beautiful view of a mountain, small shops, large steel bridge, and active railway station (Amtrak) - looked like that model train set I wanted my dad to build.

Room Tip: Select the mountain view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latchis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchis Hotel

Address: 50 Main St., Brattleboro, VT 05301
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Latchis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Latchis Hotel and Theatre, Southern Vermont's Art Deco treasure at the corner of Main and Flat Streets in Brattleboro, Vermont. The Latchis is easily accessible from I-91, Route 9, and Route 5, and provides a wonderful setting for vacation, business, and corporate travel needs.Our accommodations range from economical Twin to Full Suites, as well as a conference facility options. We offer free High Speed wireless Internet in all guestrooms, as well as business services including copy, fax, mail, and internet printing through our Guest Services. Our large windowed Lobby Cafe is the perfect spot to relax, check your email or people watch. Brattleboro has an active Main Street with plenty to see, do and eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Latchis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchis Hotel Brattleboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latchis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.