We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lilac Inn to your Saves list
Lilac Inn
53 Park St., Brandon, VT 05733   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beer & Wine Tasting
Ranked #1 of 11 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vernon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Lilac Inn provided the highest quality service and atmosphere for my daughter's recent wedding. The Inn is elegant and with its beautiful garden and grounds, it is the perfect setting. Needless to say, the hosts, Shelly and Doug are most gracious as they were extremely accommodating in order that we might experience a memorable event in our family's lives that day. Their dedication to providing a high quality experience for their guests made the event special for all of us. The menu and service were of the highest quality and everyone enjoyed themselves immensely. No problem was too big as Shelly recommended to us first-class services for photography, music etc., to ensure success for the occasion. This was definitely one of the best experiences we have ever had and anyone considering The Lilac Inn should have no reservations as to the quality and services provided by them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for having your daughter’s wedding with us and for your kind words. When we were looking to buy an Inn, Shelly realized she wanted to find a location to host weddings. We feel extremely fortunate to have found the Lilac Inn, as it was constructed in 1909 as a grand summer house in an era of grand parties. As she says, “If these walls could talk, when a wedding is going on, this house is very happy”!
As our Inn started life as a home we try to keep that welcoming feeling and personal attention. Shelly loves attending to all of the details to make sure each wedding is a memorable event that matches the bridal couple’s expectations. We loved having your friends and family with us and hope you can return at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
92
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Shelly and Doug are perfect for the Lilac Inn. They were right there to see that we were comfortable and our needs were addressed as they are so personable. The breakfasts were heavenly. We enjoyed our stay which came to a close much too soon. This was certainly a memorable anniversary trip as we celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spring Room which was very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the soaking tub! Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for having your 45th wedding anniversary with us and we loved having you as guests. As you know this summer home was built for special celebrations and 45 years of marriage deserves a special getaway. We are glad you enjoyed the soaking tub, which is original to the home. We look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a lovely escape for a weekend, breakfast was good but not very creative. Great attention to detail in house and clearly beautiful spot for an event. I would not stay in Room 9 however as that is right above the kitchen and you hear the prep. Doug a lovely host, v helpful but not obtrusive. A late afternoon tea or wine as cheese would be a real added plus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for being our guests and for your review. In our 13 years as Innkeepers we have tried many things to try to please our guests. As we are within walking distance to the village of Brandon, we find most guests are gone for the entire day, or return briefly, before going back out. For that reason, we keep a candy bowl and apple bowl for a quick snack, but do not put out a cheese tray as we found few guests enjoyed it unless they were here as a large group.

Likewise for breakfast, we have experimented with several different menus and find that most guests like the fact that we do a cooked to order breakfast with a different omelet, breakfast meat and sweet each morning. We hope you try us again and will let us know any special requests for your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Lilac Inn is easily one of the nicest Inns that I have had the pleasure of visiting ! It is not always easy finding a charming place to stay that is dog friendly and I really cannot say enough good things about this Inn . It is a beautifully maintained Victorian mansion that was built as a party house in the early 1900's . As I was travelling with my senior mother, I was thrilled to find a B&B that offered a room with 2 beds. The rooms were lovely...clean and beautifully decorated with period pieces including an large original soaker bath tub. I appreciated the t.v as well as the wifi in my room. It is evident that the innkeepers " Doug" and " Shelly" love what they do...and their faces light up when they tell stories about the house and it's history. They were truly welcoming to my large breed dog and I really felt that they were happy to have him stay...and not just tolerate him. The breakfast room was a magical spot overlooking the beautiful gardens and our breakfast was a tasty treat wonderfully prepared. My only regret is that we were only able to stay 1 night as I would have loved to stay longer and explore this great part of Vermont. Thank you Doug and Shelly for a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We enjoyed having you, your Mother and wonderful dog as our guests. We are glad you were able to stay in one of our rooms with an original deep bath tub. When this summer home was built in 1909 it was designed to pamper guests with all the latest creature comforts, including telephones, in each guest room. We have tried to preserve that welcoming and relaxing ambiance while updating the rooms and the Inn for today’s traveler. We also have put a lot love and energy into our perennial gardens.

Again, thank you for being our guests and we look forward to a longer stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Lilac Inn with another couple. We found Shelly & Doug, the Inn Keepers, to be super accommodating and friendly. Brandon is a very cute town, and many of its restaurants and shops in walking distance to the Lilac Inn. We stayed in the Moosalamoo room. It was well decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic!! It is a beautiful spot and we hope to return someday!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moosalamoo room and our friends stayed in the Audobon room - both are recommended!
See more room tips
Green Features: They make an effort to use eco-friendly products, recycle, and save water.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We loved having you and your friends as guests and are very glad you were to able to enjoy some of Brandon’s many restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit to Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I called and asked to make a reservation for a wedding. No questions were asked except for my name. When I called to cancel, the hotel had no information about me.
After the wedding, the inn keeper, Shelly, gave the groom's father our bill. He called me very upset. I called Shelly, and she kept saying he asked for the bill, which he didn't... I called her back and told her the whole story...I was so mad! So please, get a reservation number or you'll pay, either with an upset friend or/and a fee.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Patty, we were very upset after reading your comments on Trip Advisor. You rated us a 50 without even staying at the Inn. The payment you promised for the reservation has not arrived and you will not return our calls. However, if you have an occasion to visit Brandon in the future please stay with us and experience for yourself the hospitality the Lilac Inn is known for.


We purchased the Lilac Inn 13 years ago because it began life as a grand home, custom built for special celebrations. It has become a popular choice for Vermont destination weddings, as well as, romantic getaways. As a family owned business, we work very hard to ensure everyone who dines and/or stays with us has a memorable experience. We want them to return to the Lilac Inn, Brandon and Vermont.


We appreciate guest feedback and certainly hope you will consider commenting on the wedding you attended here….perhaps the food, the service, etc. This is our livelihood, our passion, a true family business and every guest is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our group of 16 loved the Lilac Inn. We stayed there 3 nights. The home is lovely and the chef was great. I do recommend this Inn! It would be perfect for a wedding or party. Everything was great. It is less than a 5 minute walk into town.

Green Features: The owners are very environmentally conscious and all practices were so also. This made it especially nice for our group. This is something that you can count on.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dianne, thank you so much for staying with us during your vacation in Vermont. We are so glad the weather was perfect and enjoyed having your group with us. Thanks for your review and you are correct, this Inn is perfect for weddings or, any special celebration. We hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Address: 53 Park St., Brandon, VT 05733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.