We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family business at its finest with excellent wines to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otter Valley Winery

Otter Valley Winery
1246 Franklin Street (Route 7), Brandon, VT 05733
802 - 247 - 6644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Brandon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Otter Valley Winery is a family owned and operated 6 acre vineyard and a winery. Our wines are made right here on site and you can always check out our grape vines and take a tour of the winery (or at least peak through the large window to see the operation). Tasting room, rental cottages, restaurant and gift shop on site. Please stop by to taste our Boston Bull, Pink Moose, Chardonnay, Sangria, Happy Ending Rose, Arctic Goose and Chocolate Mousse. Make sure to take a picture of the LARGEST wine cask in the state of Vermont right here at Otter Valley Winery!
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family business at its finest with excellent wines to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were staying at Cozy Cottages and were offered free wine tasting as their guests. We were very happy we did the tasting. All the wines were really good. Our favorites were Happy Ending Rose’ and Chocolate Mousse. We bought a case (got 10% discount), not only for ourselves but also for Christmas gifts for our relatives. A small gift shop is adjacent to the tasting room, we found a lot of cute stuff there as well. The owner was very knowledgeable about wine and provided a lot of information about Vermont wines and the wine industry in the state. His sweet little daughter was right there watching her dad work which we thought was sooooo cute.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins while in Vermont and it was a perfect location to enjoy the local spirits and not have to worry about driving. Both of the owners were very friendly and ensured that we had a pleasant experience with the wine and our stay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor attempt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I can't believe they are allowed to call themselves a winery! This is a joke right. The worst tasting product our party ever had. At the fact the owner was in the kitchen swatting flies all through out our stay makes me question their cleanliness

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UZ79, Owner at Otter Valley Winery, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It is sad that I even need to respond to this review.
This review was posted by a person that was staying in one of our cottages during Labor Day Weekend, but HAVE NEVER EVEN BEEN TO OUR WINERY NOR THE TASTING ROOM. The motorcycle group that this person is part of portrayed themselves as a family oriented, charitable and polite group and as it turned out they were nothing more but a motorcycle gang. None of the members did wine tasting, they couldn’t tell you anything about Otter Valley Winery’s wines and that’s why they refer to them as "product".
This review has nothing to do with our winery, it is 100% untrue and it is just a vindictive attempt to get back at us as the owners for not allowing their group to misbehave on the property.

Ursula Zahn
Owner/ Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Free wine tasting and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

How could I resist the free wine tasting while staying at Cozy Cottages. I loved the Boston Bull and was able to taste the Arctic Goose the morning after it was bottled. Enjoyed the wine with friends and at dinner. Definitely worth a visit in Brandon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
1 review
“Vermont Chowder House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ordered take out lunch for the office and it was first-rate! Their seafood is the best you can get in town! Fresh! The portions were generous and everyone raved about it. We will definitely order from them again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Valley Winery also viewed

 

Been to Otter Valley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter Valley Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.