We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts and Great Food Too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Alpenrose Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
Winhall Hollow Road, Bondville, VT 05340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts and Great Food Too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had to make emergency plans since the original hotel we were staying in was totally unacceptable. Dave and Annie took us in. They only accept cash or checks (we were low on cash and had no checks with us) and they told me to "mail it to them when we got home". I almost fell over. Luckily my husband found a folded up "emergency" check and we could pay for the night. Sometimes you forget that people can be so trusting. We liked them immediately. The room was big and clean and the breakfast was wonderful. They both took the time to give us information on the area since we were interested in buying a property. What nice people, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose this primarily for it's location, just 10 minutes from Stratton. It was exactly what we were looking for and more! Since we went up the weekend of the big snowstorm, we decided to stay in for dinner on Friday night. It was nice to have the option not to face the snow and the food was absolutely delicious! Annie is quite the cood. I realized on Friday that only one pair of long johns made the bag. When we went doewn to ask the best place to grab another pair, Annie was so kind as to offer to borrow a pair from her - talk about going above and beyond! It was super cold on Saturday so it was nice to have an additional layer. That is a picture of the hospitality we experienced all weekend. They were completely accomodating and the website does not do the inn justice. It is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The game room led to some fun games of foosball and ping pong. There is a DVD library (from action to children's) to borrow from to wind down after a long day of skiing. The common room has a fabulous woodburning fireplace (the smell greeted us right when we got out of the car!). The breakfast was fantastic. Great way to fuel up for the day, they use local items - the bacon & sausage were absolutely divine. We had such a great time there we have already booked a return trip next month to get in another weekend before the end of the season. We stayed in a room with a fireplace, which was a nice addition but decided to forego that this time since there's such a great fireplace in the common room. We would recommend this to any of our friends, it was a great find!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Made a reservation on short notice. Did not need anything fancy and the Alpenrose worked very well for me. Owners could not have been nicer and from comments of other guests I spent some time with that is certainly part of what brings people back again and again. For anyone skiing at Stratton, especially if with children and with concerns about cost it is harder to think of a better choice. Excellent value especially with the first rate breakfast that comes with the rate. While I did not eat dinner at Alpenrose I again heard nothing but high praise from other guests. Very convenient especially if you have young children and do not want to bother with going out after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

couldnt find a place on the mountain, my girlfriend hunted and called and called and hunted and David and Annie had a cancellation and an extra room for us... we showed up about 730 and they had dinner going for the other people staying and told us to drop our stuff up at our room and come down for a drink... unfort we passed out as soon as we hit the bed, but the following mrng they had a fantastic breakfast set up and were so warm and accommodating... we stayed even a bit late just to have a nice long conversation w them... they are fantastically nice and i would recommend going there over and over again and will defo be back...
thx a lot guys and keep up the great cozy INN
Joe and Deirdre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Alpenrose Inn was a great weekend escape for our family. Our room was clean, comfortable and perfect for crashing after a long day on the mountain. We loved our room (Tamarack) with a double and a twin bed for the little kids and a queen-sized bed for us big kids. While we didn't see the other rooms, it appears David and Annie have a variety of room sizes for couples or families.  The kids were also thrilled to discover a downstairs playroom complete with ping-pong, foosball and billiards tables. 

Before our stay at the Alpenrose, I had never been to an Inn that uses flannel sheets for house linens. While the flannel is good for falling asleep, it also makes a guest more resistant to waking from a bear-like slumber. The antidote to our morning blues was Annie's delicious made-to-order breakFEAST. Annie's creative kitchen skills magically rendered a perfect variety of hor d'oeuvres, home-made entrees and desserts for dinner too. We are pretty picky about our food choices and no one in our crew was disappointed. My favorite was Annie's rosemary roast chicken, served with green beans and brown rice and a bottomless bowl of dressed field greens. Even our 12-year-old was pleased! I repeat ... even our twelve year old was pleased.

We had been planning a family ski trip to Vermont for over a month and had to ask David and Annie for a few special requests on top of changing dates. All of this was handled very gracefully by our hosts. The Alpenrose innkeepers were very generous and helpful with local recommendations and tips for enjoying our day on the mountain. David and Annie have perfected the lost art of the alpine/nordic ski lodge. In my opinion, the Alpenrose Inn defines what a family ski experience should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Staying overnight at the Alpenrose Inn was like escaping to our own vacation home in the mountains. The Inn is rustic, the rooms are lovely and neat, the common areas spacious, but cozy, the back deck overlooks nice gardens with a pond and it's really quiet and peacefull. The amazing dinner (which included fresh vegetables from the garden) was paired with two different, carefully selected wonderful wines and followed by a delicious dessert. After gazing at the stars we had a good night sleep and the morning started with fresh coffee on the deck and nice breakfast. But the best part of the experience was spending time with the hosts, Anne and David. They are not only warm and welcoming, but really engaging and interesting people. We could have spent the entire night talking with them. Looking forward to going back in the winter to enjoy the ski-slopes at Stratton and the fireplace afterwards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Upon pulling in the driveway, I felt at peace and that the Alpenrose Inn was exactly where I was supposed to be! The hosts Dave and Annie were the epitome of warm and welcoming and throughout my stay there, consistently accommodating and delightful. Since the group staying was somewhat "health conscious" (without request) they even made sugar free mini apple muffins! Breakfasts were made to order and delicious! My friend and I stayed in the "Wanderer" room which was both clean and cozy. Not even being skiers (on the mountain for a yoga retreat weekend) we both agreed the Alpenrose Inn would be excuse enough in itself to visit Stratton Mountain in the future! 2 very enthusiastic thumbs up for the Alpenrose Inn and much appreciation for Dave and Annie making my first B & B experience so pleasant :))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: Winhall Hollow Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.