We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Fox Inn
103 Winhall Hollow Road, Bondville, VT 05340
802-297-2488
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Bondville
Price range: $8 - $48
Cuisines: American, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A hidden gem in the Green Mountains of Vermont. Breath-taking views, known for our live music, homemade food, desserts and welcoming staff. Premiere entertainment from New Orleans to New York, California to Ireland... Come find what you've been looking for!
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stopped into the Red Fox Inn after it was recommended to us by several locals. The bartender was great and perfectly poured our Guiness. The burgers were outstanding and we loved atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where the Red Fox is that Inn?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Here is the place I go when I need to get away from the restaurants in Stratton's village. It can be crowded but either show up early or take a seat at the bar; the service is better there too. I've been here dozens of time over the years and recommend any of the daily specials but after a day of skiing I love it when they're serving the meatloaf and mash potatoes. It's a great tavern atmosphere with friendly servers and live music.

If you're looking for something a bit more refined then make a reservation for "upstairs" where you'll find it less crowded and noisy but you'll pay a premium for this. But it's not really that more expensive. You'll spend about $100 for a dinner for two and that is about average for the area for a finer dinning experience.

Try it, you'll like it,

TnR

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower Hudson Valley, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Irish Night a must for fish & chips lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

When I was working on a remodeling project at our nearby home last year I was able to make it to the ground floor tavern every Wednesday night for a pint of Guinness and a heaping basket of delicious fish and chips. It's a great meal and one of the best bargains in the Green Mountains.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tavern - Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a nice surprise to find this place. A foodie's heaven ! We went 2 nights in a row and it just got better. Fish tacos were amazing. Homemade soups, delicious. Staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and super friendly (easily & happily accommodating several food allergies in our group). Can't wait to go back. This seems to be where al the locals go, though, so get there early ! There was a wait to get in after 6.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is for the tavern part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

They have a tavern menu downstairs and upscale menu upstairs. Tavern was rustic with a reclaimed wood look. We ate in the tavern & it was really cold in there which was the worst part of the experience! Service was attentive and the food gave a nod to the upstairs flair. The meatloaf was good and they had a little sampler with it of squash, potatoes, cabbage, carrots & broccoli. The chicken parm (I think that's what else was ordered) was good and they even let me sample the beef stew which was the special that night. The apple pie is supposedly one of the best in the area and it was really good and nicely served with fresh strawberries, ice cream & fancy sugar and chocolate syrup designs. Close to Stratton Mountain Resort...about 6 miles, but get directions.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Inn also viewed

 
Stratton Mountain, VT
Stratton Mountain, VT
 

Been to Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.