We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staffs, BUT......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. to your Saves list
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staffs, BUT......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really don't like to leave bad reviews because the staffs were very nice but the hotel needs better maintenance and updates! I usually sleep very well. Not this time though. People from upstairs had very heavy steps. I woke up at 4am and couldn't get back to sleep because it's just too loud! Don't expect the breakfast would be fancy because there are only English muffins and coffee - and it won't be served until 8:30am. We were planning to leave the lodge at 8am but without coffee I just can't function so my schedule was delayed :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey G, General Manager at Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn., responded to this review, September 6, 2012
One of the main things to remember with our inn is that we are 150 years old. We are working diligently to correct any problems that our guests bring to our attention. The one main issue that we are looking into is better sound proofing the rooms. However, as with any old building, it is a difficult task that takes time. If you are concerned about being woken up at night, I would recommend that one request a room on the second floor. As far as our breakfast, this has been something that we have been looking at to either improve or to remove from our services. When I check in any guest, I let them know that we do offer a very limited breakfast in the morning, but if they require something more substantial, there is a great breakfast place directly across the street from our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    5
    16
    25
See reviews for
18
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My GF and I stayed at Stone's Lodge from August 6 to August 9 2012, as we had purchased a 3 night Groupon package.

The first thing I am going to tell anyone reading this review is: if you are expecting a five-star Hilton, then you had better book somewhere else. The building is old and the current owners are well aware of it's shortcomings. They are trying their level best to update the Lodge a piece at a time, as time and staff permit.

As with all of our accommodations, we had no expectations about what sort of room we would be getting. Our requirements are simply that it be clean and functional. Having said that, I will tell you that the room we had was very clean (and kept that way during our stay) and spacious, not to mention a VERY comfy bed!! All of the fixtures in the bathroom were working and clean. The only thing I could have asked for was a hair dryer. The room was always quiet and we were never disturbed by any other occupants.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were all extremely friendly and always happy to have a chat with you. Above all else, they want you to enjoy your stay at the lodge and will do whatever it takes to rectify any issue you might have. We didn't have any complaints, but one guest that was checking in had a problem and the General Manager (Jeff) personally helped relocate this fellow...and he was on his night off!

The location is fantastic for hiking and scenic drives. If you take the time to have a decent conversation with the staff, they are more than happy to give you directions to points of interest in the area that you won't find in the brochures. That;s the kind of thing that makes a great vacation, in my book.

We ate at the restaurant/tavern at the Lodge (called The Fat Spy) 2 of our three nights. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is always friendly and homey. If you are going to visit, make sure you are there for burger night on Monday...they were incredibly delicious! The prices were more reasonable that most restaurants we could find in Manchester Center, and we had the added bonus of great company while not having to worry about driving after a couple of drinks.

My hat goes off to Jeff (General Manager), Steve (Bar Manager), Travis (Asst. Innkeeper), and Shawn (sorry dude, I don't know your title). They were all very friendly and it wouldn't have been the same vacation without them!

We will definitely be going back to Stone's Lodge.

I hope this review helps anyone who reads it.

Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked a three night package through Groupon and stayed in late July of this year. The room had no air conditioning. When we opened the windows, there was no screens. Who said Vermont has no mosquitos? There was one small CF light in the room and no light near the bed. The bath was adequate, had all the requisite appliances but the light in the small shower stall was out. Not an impossible problem, just dark.

The desk was unmanned and we had to check ourselves in and out. One night the outside lights were out and we passed the place twice before finding it. I didn't think it was worth complaining about at the time since we spent most of the time in the surrounding environment, which was worth the trip. But the room was not worth the reasonably low price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask basic questions before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondville hotels

Wilmington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Stones Lodge and we had a fantastic time. Our room was freshly painted and it was comfortable and clean. We had an air-conditioner in our room. Staff was very friendly. For breakfast we had home made blueberry muffins! At Stones Lodge, they make their own bread, muffins, and burger buns for their $6! burgers. Food at the Fat Spy Tavern was delicious. Service was bit slowly but Tavern was full with guests both nights, so that was OK. In the evening, outside at the porch, they lit a pit fire, and we enjoyed good local beer and great atmosphere. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed at Sapphire room. We also saw Pearl, and that is nice one too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We were nicely greeted and escorted to our room. The manager explained that the room had some quirks and that if we had any concerns to let him know. There were a couple things that were broken, like a wobbly toilet seat, broken headboard, but the bed was super soft, the rooms was clean... All things that we could accept.
And then we went to take a shower. The water fluctuated from ice cold to burning hot. The shower head was similar to a garden hose.
On top of the shower being terrible, there was no air conditioner in our room. Now I wouldnt normally think this was an issue. It is Vermont, but it was in the 90s the whole weekend and being that only one window had a screen, there was no air circulation.
We decided not to eat in the restaurant... The Manchester outlets were only about 15 minutes away with tons of restaurants and there is a 7 eleven basically across the street that's open 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Pictures are VERY misleading.
During our Three-Night stay, we had to change rooms from our requested/reserved room as soon as we checked in due to a non-working toilet. The other room was a "family" room (GOLD Room) with a queen bed and two single's. There was a water closet which included a sink and a full bath in the other room. This room also had a non-functioning toilet, outlets that didn't work, a broken single bed, and the queen bed felt like we were sleeping on two box springs (extremely uncomfortable). Also, the shower literally had pieces of the shower head fall on my fiance' as she was showering, with a light that didnt function inside the shower either (hard to explain, old design and very dark, so there is a "lamp" inside the shower), so you could only shower during daylight hours. Our closet had a HUGE cut out piece of drywall, simply leaning against the wall. The bathroom had a similar piece cut out, hidden by the towel rack. To top it off, there was an akward odor. Not sure if this was the cigarette smoke from the first floor coming up to our room or not, but there was certainly a weird smell.
The front desk was never attended, so I could not contact anyone regarding the problems in the second room after we were moved.
The "complimentary breakfast" comprised of stale cereal, and English muffins and a few bagels with gnats flying/landing all around. Needless to say, very disgusting.
It seems like someone just halfway went through renovations. I would be VERY embarassed to have guests stay at my house if it were in this condition, let alone if this was my actual business. I truly do not see how this place stays open.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room...find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

In this case a picture is not worth a thousand words. It is a great location and the room looked nice but there were problems. The thermostat was broken, toilet had to be flushed twice a couple of times and the shower was a joke. Didn't have a problem with the staff. I think they are doing the best they can but with an absentee landlord who doesn't know the first thing about New England, oh well.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Location: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.