We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolton Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Inn
Save
You added Black Bear Inn to your Saves list
4010 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I love it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second trip to the Black Bear Inn and it was just as good if not better than the first!!! Let me start by saying that the Inn's location and decor make it a great place!! The views of the mountain are breathtaking! We stayed in Room 13 this year and I loved it! The hot tub, fire stove and two balconies made for a very comfy stay! Oh, and the very roomy King Size bed helped! The Black Bear Inn is by far from your typical bed and breakfast!! The breakfasts each morning are amazing!!!! You get your choice from two hot meals and let me tell you that no matter what you pick you will NOT be disappointed! They also have fruit, muffins and juices available too. I will recommend that during your stay you make a reservation at least one night to eat dinner. The Chef is AWESOME!!! You will not leave hungry! The Innkeepers are very accomodating and do their best to make all of their guests comfortable. We are already looking forward to next year's trip =)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room that has its own private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are so glad our guests enjoyed their second winter visit with us! And thanks to this wonderful winter we are having, they were even able to enjoy a snowmobile tour nearby. Looking forward to hosting them next February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    45
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
103
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The inn is located near the ski resort and nestled in the woods. Convenient as you can ski to resort fom back of inn.
The furniture, lighting, window treatments, carpeting all need an upgrade....
The lobby is filled with pieces that don't match and the dark green carpet thruout makes the place look dark and gloomy....
The room has no room on the bureaus/tables due to all of these extra large outdated lights....
Flat screen tvs, less dated stuff on the walls, new curtains, lighter color on the walls, and updated vanities in the bathroom would really help improve the old look and provide better use of space in cramped rooms. Dying plants in the hall should be removed....
Food is ok.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
While we cannot control our guests' tastes, we can certainly stay true to our property's essence of being a country inn. To some folks, that may be equivalent to being outdated, along with our ski lodge feel (lots of woodwork and the necessary dark carpeting for all those boots!). We are fortunate to be complimented daily, however, on our Inn's charm, comfort, and the fact that we are a refreshing change from an everyday hotel.
It is certainly helpful to have this perspective though, and will be looking for ways to perhaps open up space on some of our smaller dressers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What's not to like? Great hotel, great location, great people - and the best food I had eaten on a four week visit to North America.

Up a mountain, with stunning views, I wished we had had the time to stay at this place longer, and I am planning to go back.

The couple who run it are very friendly and have taken into account lots of little details that make staying somewhere more pleasant. They also gave us some good tips about where to go locally, and things to do.

They have an excellent chef and we had an amazing dinner there on our arrival.

Our room was clean, warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed here some 5 maybe 6 times, and enjoyed each visit.

The Inn Keepers - Brian & Jill are pleasant, helpful and always welcoming on our visits.

Black Bear Inn is comfortable, quiet and close to many great places to see. The meals have always been very good as well.

We have been with family and friends to many of the area "tourist traps" in the area, including Ben & Jerry's, Cold Hollow Cider, The Chabot Cheese Factory Outlet, The Blown Glass ship in the same area.

We stay here when visiting Lake Champlain area, Burlington, Mt. Philo, Ausable Chasm, Stowe and so many other great places to enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Get one with a Hot Tub. Our children / grandchildren really enjoy that. Make sure it drive over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a travel writer I pay particular attention to online reviews and then verifying if appropriate or not. The Black Bear Inn is a rare find across New England as traditional country inn bed and breakfasts are not typically found adjacent to ski areas with ski-in/ski-out options. Ski area accommodations are increasingly becoming packed with condos and mountain home rentals. Many offer resort hotel rooms ranging from basic to luxurious and some still have traditional ski lodges with plenty of the fun, party atmosphere. But, if you are a couple or family looking for the warmth, relaxation, and gentle hush of a country inn WITH direct access to ski trails, the Black Bear Inn is an unparalleled experience. My husband and I live locally with passes to Bolton Valley Ski Area in Northwestern Vermont and opted to spend our Christmas vacation at the Black Bear Inn. With multiple price points for rooms, we were pampered with a private hot tub, gas fireplace, plush robes, and king bed at a most reasonable price. A fully cooked breakfast is included in rates and gratuity is added at 15 percent which is not only appropriate but convenient. While ski-in/out applies once Bolton Valley's Timberline quad opens which is not usually until after New Year's, we enjoyed multiple days of excellent skiing followed by dinner at the inn (open to public as well as guests) that far exceeded our expectations. The Black Bear Inn is authentic and traditional meaning the doors use keys, the quilts are handicraft patchwork, the walls are of wooded panels and country wallpaper, the lobby is a black bear furnished living room lined with VHS tapes which can be played in rooms, books, games, and magazines. Innkeeper's Jill and Brian are as gentle as the lovely establishment they run offering Vermont country inn solace long lost at most ski areas. This was by far our most romantic and magical Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I wanted to get away over the Thanksgiving holiday. We decided on the Black Bear Inn based on reviews and that they have some rooms that will allow dogs. We found the Inn to be a charming, romantic, family friendly place to stay. We were staying in room #4 with a private hot tub which was conveniently located near an exit so we could get our dogs in and out without bothering other guests.

I agree with the other people who wrote that the rooms can be noisy with the hot tub machinery going all the time. I really only noticed it though as I reflected on the comments from the other people who had written. It didn't bother us during our stay. Having access to the hot tub definitely overrode any feelings about the noise.

I know some people complained about the decor being dated. However, we really felt at home and comfortable in our room. I wouldn't change anything with the decor. it has that country Vermont feeling that welcomes anyone.

The innkeepers were very welcoming. We spoke mostly to Jill who gave her full attention to us even though she was busy making sure everything was running smoothly.

We made reservations for Thanksgiving dinner. What a gift to us not to have to cook. The meal was perfect. I wouldn't have changed a thing, The breakfasts were delicious with a choice a 2 meals to pick from. There were mini muffins freshly baked as well as fresh fruit to take if you want a light meal or a small snack while you're waiting for your meal. It's obvious they have a very skilled chef in the kitchen.

The Inn lobby invites guests to sit in front of the massive fireplace hearth. There were many families visiting while we were there. The children were playing board games. It felt very comfortable to us even though we weren't traveling as a family.

The Inn is conveniently located near Bolton Valley skiing. If you wanted you could walk up a short path and start skiing down the mountain. It reminded me of being at a European ski lodge.

We would highly recommend a stay at the Black Bear Inn. You will return home refreshed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My fiance and I were just traveling Bolton Access Road to see how much snow Bolton Valley had when we came across the sign for the Inn. We saw that they had private hot tubs so we quickly went home and booked a room. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a room with a hot tub, so I was a bit bummed, but I then found out they had a community hot tub (I admit, any hotel with a hot tub ranks high in my book!). Anyway, when we first walked in we were greeted by the sight and smell of a log fire, giving it the feel of rustic cabin. We had one of the regular rooms, so it was smaller but very cozy. We were feet away from the hot tub, and used it twice. It was very cozy sitting there with the wind and snow blowing. Unfortunately, it made recovering the hot tub torturous, but well worth it. It was such a cozy night with the snow falling. It gave the feeling of being "snowed in" even though we weren't. The breakfast was great too. Only suggestion would be offering jelly choices for the toast, but that's a very small suggestion. And the innkeeper was extremely friendly! We chatted with her for a good ten minutes before checking out, and she seemed genuinely grateful for our patronage, and grateful for any suggestions we made. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here. In fact, we made a reservation for next weekend, same room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Despite not having a room with a private hot tub available, we are so glad that these guests booked with us last weekend anyway! It was a beautiful start to the winter season here, so we were happy to have the fireplace roaring.
Our country breakfasts are one of our trademarks here at the Black Bear, and appreciate their suggestion of having more jelly choices (we currently offer strawberry preserves and orange marmalade).
We are really looking forward to hosting this couple again and appreciate them taking the time to leave their comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Address: 4010 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Location: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2000 feet above the valley floor, the Black Bear Inn extends a warm welcome to all who visit our mountaintop hideaway! Our slopeside location makes us the ideal spot for a ski vacation with family; the Black Bear Inn also offers rooms with private hot tubs for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Guests will start each day with a hearty country breakfast featuring locally-tapped maple syrup, and later enjoy fine dining in our candlelit restaurant where we feature a three-course prix fix menu that changes nightly and an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Bolton Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.