We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harrington House Inn
88 North Rd, Bethel, VT 05032-9211
802-392-8034
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Had a great meal at this wonderful restaurant. A real gem in a small town in the middle of Vermont.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

You CAN have it both ways at the Harrington House, simple or elegant! They offer a wonderful menu and you can go with a burger or you can go with a creative ala carte offering of delicious entrees, appetizers, and first course offerings. We chose the latter option and shared an appetizer, two of their first course offerings, and two entrees... all creatively conceived and executed with flair, delicious! This is not to say Harrington House offers an overwhelming number of items on their menu in an attempt to do it all... they don't go that route. Rather, there are just enough choices across the scale to match the appetites of both travelers looking for a special en-route meal or those who are making Harrington House their destination. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to eat, food was great try the onion jam on your hambuger you want regret it and the service was wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We got in late to Bethel, visiting my sister-in-law and her family, our drive from Boston taking longer with the flooded highways and storms. We had a 5 hour flight and a 2.5 hour drive. We were hungry, but it was late for a small village like Bethel. Mark called down and they said they'd save a table for us. We jetted down and had the most pleasant, delicious and unusual dishes I've had in a while (carrot risotto!). The work they've done on the building is phenomenal. And the owners are more than accommodating. After being introduced, one of the owners was zooming off to see if he could help a stuck tourist staying at Harrington House find their way back down the mountain. Such nice people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cozy b & b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

we stayed in the harrington house for the memorial day weekend, and it was perfect. Rick made us feel welcomed and at home as soon as we entered the front door. bethel and the surrounding towns were great to ride our bikes around and take in the beauty of vermont.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Inn - Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our family was in Vermont for the wedding of dear friends. We enjoyed brunch at Harrington House Inn -- French toast, scrambled eggs, the usual breakfast fare. AND fantastic chicken hash with caramelized onions and sweet potatoes. One after another, people who said they didn't care for hash were urged to try this dish AND RAVED! And luscious Green Mountain coffee. The host (owner? chef?) was thanking us as we left. When I complimented the food and the coffee, he very kindly gave me 2 packets of coffee to take home. So sweet! Later in the day we were trying to decide where to have dinner. Decided to go back to Harrington House. Wow! I split a salad with my daughter's boyfriend: spinach, gorgonzola, candied pecans, beets -- fantastic! There were 5 in our party--2 had salmon, 2 had petit filet mignon, and 1 made up his meal of sides: chicken breast, garlic mashed potatoes, and baked macaroni and cheese. Without exception, each of us were delighted with our choices. All the food was excellent quality, prepared as requested, and absolutely delicious. If you're in this part of Vermont, treat yourself to a wonderful meal, gracious service, and a beautiful dining room. Only wish we lived closer to the Harrington House Inn!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrington House Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.