We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Ristorante

Allegro Ristorante
520 Main Street, Bennington, VT 05201
802.442.0990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Bennington
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Maywood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First time visiting Vermont. The hotel recommended Allegro and we were not disappointed. Food was delicious and great value; steak was an amazingly large portion. The only disappointment was the home made ice cream. Two scoops for $7.00 was more than it was worth - even though its home made, I have had better. Overall...great food and great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“15th Anniversary dinner - a success!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in Bennington just like we did when we honeymooned 15 years ago. The Molly Stark Inn no longer exists so we stayed elsewhere (and were very disappointed, but that is another review). This restaurant was one of the two recommended by the Inn we stayed at and was a good recommendation. We loved the linen table clothes and the lovely atmosphere of wood and quiet. The food was rich and delicious - we both had pasta dishes that were fabulous (mine especially, the wild mushroom with cream sauce over fettucine) and the wine selection was really good. The wine selections and prices perfectly matched their menu selections. Service was perfect! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was phenomenal! Rabbit/sausage meatballs with home made gnocchi, kale and quinoa salad! Perfectly grilled pork chops with thinly sliced eggplant wrapped around asparagus! Now that's what you want to experience when traveling outside your hometown!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Charming decor and excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We saw the good reviews and decided to eat here our first evening in Bennington. The building is brick with very nice décor inside. We both ordered the pasta with clams, mussels and roma tomatoes in a wine and garlic sauce, along with a wonderful Italian crisp white wine. It was heavenly. Can't speak to any other dishes they serve, but we sure loved this meal. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellant food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were fortunate to find this restaurant recommended on Tripadvisor. We visited on a Thursday night in September, did not have reservations, but that was alright since they had a few tables available at the early time we arrived. Based on recommendation I tried the balsamic-glazed pork tenderloin and my husband wanting fish, chose the arctic-chard over a bean purée. Both came with asparagus and were delicious!!! For wine, since they only serve Italian wine, I went on the waitresses recommendation of a combined Cabernet and something else which I am forgetting now. It was delicious! I hope to visit here again next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Ristorante also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Allegro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.