We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint, charming home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eddington House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eddington House Inn to your Saves list
Eddington House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Main Street, Bennington, VT 05257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Dinner Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A quaint, charming home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of a relaxation package this past March which included a two night stay at the inn, a bottle of wine, a couples massage (at the local spa in town), dinner at the Pangea Lounge, afternoon snacks each day and the most delicious gourmet breakfast you could ask for!
From the first phone call to Pattie to secure our "last minute" package until our goodbye Pattie went above and beyond making us feel welcome.
The inn is VERY clean and cozy. We stayed in Suzie's room upstairs which consists of a bedroom and a separate private sitting/t.v. room down the hall. The bathroom with a claw foot tub & shower is directly across the hall (if you worry about this... bring your bathrobe).
I did peek in the other two rooms in the inn and they were just as tastefully decorated, they also had a sitting area separate from the bedroom and the bathrooms were located right in the rooms.
Pattie offers a very nice selection snacks, tea & water in the afternoon to hold you over until dinner.
Each morning coffee and breakfast treats are served before everyone meets for Pattie's delicious gourmet breakfast. We had the stuffed french toast with strawberries it was AMAZING! Pattie certainly tries to accomodate each guests dietary needs so be sure to mention if you have any food allergies. Keep an open mind to trying something new because if you are looking for a meat & potatoes buffet type breakfast you will not find it here.
Pattie also is excellent about recommending things to see and do in the area to make your stay pleasant. She will even sit with you, give you a "tourist" map of the area and help you plan out your day if need be!
We ate at Kevin's Pub & The Pangea Lounge (separate review written)
We definitely recommend the Eddington House Inn and will be glad to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
108
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newton NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Patty our host was very friendly, helpful. She made our stay very relaxing. our breakfasts were excellent. The location was excellent, much to do in and around town. We loved it and will return soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

delicious breakfasts, tasteful, comfortable rooms with nice views out the window, a proprietor who knows how to make people feel welcome and comfortable, great bathrooms, and deep snow-covered Vermont all around will make you glad you traveled to the Eddington house. Very nice touches: always available in the kitchen, a pitcher full of cold water with orange slices, snacks and pastries, hot tea and cocoa. At night, the wine glasses come out, and the opener--everything you need to make your evening comfortable and relaxed. We picnicked in our room the first night in front of the electric fireplace and were able to heat up the dish we'd brought in the microwave. If you are a light sleeper the inn is right on the main street in North Bennington, but otherwise, a great place to spend a few days. Close to skiing (alpine and nordic) and the great art museums in North Adams and WIlliamstown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Spent 2 nights here with the BF on a cross country ski adventure. Patti was lovely and helpful, and her breakfasts were a real treat (fruit and yogurt parfait waiting for you when you came downstairs; artichoke, egg, and cheese dish for breakfast with buttered toast). We stayed in Suzie's room which was the cheapest suite but still had an electric fireplace, a separate sitting room with TV & daybed, and also a bathroom located across the hall. The set-up was a bit awkward going to and fro the bathroom, but the overall atmosphere and charm of the place totally made up for it. Patti had great recommendations for places to go, see, and eat (even down to the dishes!) and made our weekend getaway a really lovely trip. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We chose Eddington House from the internet -- and were so glad we did!
The house itself (accommodating only 3 sets of Guests) combines spacious modern elegance with traditional New England style, evidencing Patti, the Innkeeper's creativity and attention to detail which is also reflected in the breakfast menus and Patti's culinary excellence.
We stayed In Suzie's Room, which is truly beautiful, complete with separate spacious bathroom and pretty sitting room. An added bonus is being able to eat locally in a choice of quality restaurants.
On arrival and on returning from expeditions each day we were welcomed by Patti and an enticing selection of teas, savoury snacks and home made cakes. Coffee and home made pastries are available each morning from 07.00 -- before the gourmet breakfasts a little later!
Patti herself is a delightful hostess, very ready to offer suggestions for excursions or eating out to enable her guests to make the most of their stay.
We found North Bennington a peaceful yet interesting place to stay -- and found the most beautiful colours of our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Eddington House Inn is a delightful and charming place. Patti Eddington is a wonderful hostess -- and chef. The rooms are clean, peaceful and comfortable, and the food was delectable. Patti was an excellent tour guide as well. We loved our stay and hope to have the opportunity to visit Bennington again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed only the one night as part of a driving trip around New England. We were very happy with our choice on all counts - good location, comfortable and clean rooms and a very friendly and helpful owner. There are a few restaurants within 100 yards or so, making it nice to leave the car behind to go out to dinner. We went to the restaurant in the pub just up the road and found it very busy but really enjoyed our meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eddington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddington House Inn

Address: 21 Main Street, Bennington, VT 05257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eddington House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1857 Vermont Inn nestled in charming North Bennington Village in scenic Southern Vermont. Crisp, clean light-filled suites. Private baths. Comfortable beds. Scrumptious breakfasts. Endless desserts. Wireless internet. Easy walk to Bennington College, restaurants, hiking, Lake Paran & waterfalls. Museums, Green Mountains, skiing & Vermont Covered Bridges nearby. Bennington’s boutique bed and breakfast is only 3 hours from NYC or Boston. “….probably the best value in all of Vermont.” Fodor’s ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Eddington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddington House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.