We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Benn Diner

Blue Benn Diner
318 North St, Bennington, VT 05201
802-442-5140
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Bennington
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

If the Blue Benn hadn't been recommended by the front desk of the Hampton Inn in Bennington we would hAve driven right by it. It is a hole in the wall with counter service and several booths with patched seats equipped with wall mounted juke boxes which will play you 2 tunes for a quarter. We were here for breakfast and it is really good. I knew the goodness came from the butter the vegetables were sautéed in for my scramble but it was worth every bite. The western omelet was also delicious. There were people waiting when we got there, no list just first come first serve via the honor system. Friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    73
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a great lunch with the family at the Blue Benn.

Chicken fried steak as good as you get in the South, a blackened salmon Caesar salad, spaghetti with a meatball the size if a softball, and ginger bread pancakes were on the menu for us today. Everything delicious and tasty.

A worthwhile stop if you're in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was cute to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went here for breakfast - sat at the counter right away (we expected it to be crowded, but due to the storm, we are guessing people weren't out and about). Food was OK - but we do cook our own breakfasts a lot and are picky.

If you want to see a piece of history - great place to go!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Diner delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A Vermont legend deserving it's reputation. The Blue Benn has a menu for anyone. Vegan dishes and everything else you would expect in a diner. The variety of the menu and the quality of the food is amazing. The only negative can be the wait time , however anything this good is worth waiting for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The quintisential 50's diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

For a trip back to the 50's and 60's, this is the place to go. A fun place for a meal. Be aware that it is cash only.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Benn Diner also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Blue Benn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Benn Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.