We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats on the cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Benn Diner

Blue Benn Diner
318 North St, Bennington, VT 05201
802-442-5140
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Bennington
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Camden, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good eats on the cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a short visit to Bennington, we knew we had to go to Blue Benn...Best for breakfast, come hungry, bring cash. Everybody is friendly. Cool old original diner, yup!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    73
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Vermont
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Diner Food a Flexitarian Can Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very pleased to see a section on the menu for vegetarians. I do eat turkey and seafood however the nut burger looked too good to pass up. (Almost went for the turkey croquettes.) It was delicious: large patty on pita with lettuce. Definite curry element. My sweetheart had the Philly cheesesteak omelet which he loved. Our waitress had the right amount of sass in keeping with the atmosphere; classic diner catering to mostly locals. Juke boxes at the booths with mostly classic oldies. The only bummer for me was the coconut cream pie: the whipped cream and crust were tasty, the filling too eggey, hard and not the smooth texture I had hoped for. Stick with the donut/ice cream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City,Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are here twice in our 2 week visit in Vermont. The food was terrific. Don't pass up the grilled donut w/ice cream!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too much to pick from”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Even though we sat at the counter I had to ask for my coffee to be refilled both times. The food was dropped so fast it sloshed and the atmosphere is not my favorite; silly 8x10 paper special signs on every available space , crowded and in need of an update. I won't be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something for everything and every budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

An enormous menu with all the diner classics, at budget friendly prices. Fear not vegetarians and the gluten free, this diner has plenty to please you. In addition to the usual diner menu offerings, international dishes from Mexican burritos (I loved mine!), Syrian roll-ups, to Asian stir frys are served up in this authentic tin city 1940's diner car. Booth seating is limited but the long counter offers a good view of the action, and plenty of it, as dish after dish fly out of the kitchen on their way to pleasing tourist & loyal customers alike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Benn Diner also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Blue Benn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Benn Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.