We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing It Right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiddlehead at Four Corners

Fiddlehead at Four Corners
338 Main Street, Bennington, VT 05201
+(1)802-447-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Bennington
Type: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in the old marble bank on one of the four corners of downtown Bennington, Fiddlehead at Four Corners is a fine art and contemporary craft gallery that features handmade wares from studio artists across North America. We feature blown glass, pottery, jewelry, wood, metal, music, oil paintings, film photography and fiber. We have turned the old gold vault into the world's only "Graffiti Vault" with chalkboard walls and invite customers to "Chalk It Up!" -- an endeavor that has led to 3 self-published books by manager Joey Kulkin. Another vault -- the "Brew Vault" features vintage breweriana while the mezzanines are used for children's art classes. All of the remnants of the bank, opened in 1929, add to the decor, from the 7 brass chandeliers to the original marble counter and floors to the guard's bird nest to the teargas ducts. Fiddlehead began as a mom and pop endeavor in 1997 in a small studio owned by Joel and Nina Lentzner, who graduated from Bennington College in 1991. See you soon!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Doing It Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great place --- creativity galore in a repurposed setting of bygone elegance. Banks aren't designed with this kind of architectural dignity anymore. We were so glad that this significant marble building has been successfully transformed into an artisans' gallery. We visited on the afternoon of October 20th, and the young man.staffer was so charming, personable, and fun - glad we stopped in!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great store and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were in Bennington for the day and decided to check out some local shops. So glad we stopped in Fiddlehead at Four Corners-what a great shop! Joey was helpful and friendly-we were looking for something unique from our Vermont weekend and found a cute painting we ended up buying. Our next Bennington trip we will definitely be stopping back in Fiddlehead!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazingly talented artists from ALL over!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place to find just about anything. They have everything from Jewlery & Scarves to Glassworks & Wooden bowls. The 'counter boy' is a blogger with a talent for the written word. If you follow him on Facebook not only will you see new crafts but also the stories behind the artists and the buyers. With all my visits to the store I am constantly finding new things I've never seen before.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very cool store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I found Fiddlehead while wandering around downtown Bennington. The store features Unique artwork from around the country and local Vermont. Joey was extremely helpful and courteous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best place to shop in Bennington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Fiddleheads is a fabulous shopping experience if you are looking for original art including glass, ceramics and paintings. It's located in an old bank in the center of town. I found several affordable gift items. The service was great and the general vibe was excellent. This is a must see when you go to Bennington.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddlehead at Four Corners also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Fiddlehead at Four Corners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiddlehead at Four Corners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.