We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knotty Pine Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knotty Pine Motel to your Saves list
Knotty Pine Motel
130 Northside Drive, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Judging from the street view, you might think it is just another dated, tired roadside motel with a capital M, but staying at the Knotty Pine was as a great experience. The rooms are big and clean, the location is a short drive to the center of Bennington and to other Vermont/Berkshire destinations, and the staff is friendly and attentive. I'd recommend it, especially if you're traveling with kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Melvillean,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's true that motor inns do not always have the good reputations that they once did. As independent owners we are trying hard to keep this very important part of Americana alive and thriving. We're so glad that you had a good experience at the Knotty Pine and will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bennington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
46
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very clean hotel. NO musty hotel room smell. Newly renovated bathrooms and new carpeting. New beds being delivered this week. It was a little early in the season to swim, but we did enjoy relaxing in the lounge chairs by the pool in the evening and morning. Great value. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We're glad you noticed our efforts to update and renovate our guest rooms. Yes, new beds are in place in ALL of our 20 units! Many rooms also have newly tiled bathrooms. We have been in business for 42 years this summer and believe that constant upkeep and pleasant surroundings is the key to our longevity! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

room was very clean, property spotless, owners very friendly, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. Will be back in the near future, being sure to call ahead for reservations, so we don,t miss out. Much better than the big box hassle. Close to shopping & try Madisons downtown for dinner. Thanks again for holding the curling iron.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Rick S.,
Thank you for your glowing review. Nothing makes us happier than knowing our guests have had a great experience while staying with us. We will look forward to your next stay at the Knotty Pine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Check in was great, owners very welcoming. The rooms are a little dated but very clean which is more important to us. Shower had plenty of hot water.
We had a king bed which was very comfortable. These are the places we enjoy, local family run. We would stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! While we do offer the modern conveniences of the big chain hotels like flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi, we are proud to cater to folks like yourself who appreciate the charm of a family owned, mom and pop motor inn. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great location in town, incredibly friendly and accommodating owners--we booked the room because it had the earliest check-in in town and we'd driven through the night, but ended up cancelling our ski resort reservation and staying for 3 nights. Like the other reviewer mentioned, we arrived before check-in just to pick up the keys, and were overjoyed by the offer to check in early. An amazing value, all around.

Room Tip: Specific rooms cannot be reserved, but the best for a quiet night's sleep would be numbers 16 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your positve review of our motel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to having you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms have a 50's ambiance with something of a summer camp feel [maybe it's the knotty pine walls]. Good mattress, good quality bedding, towels, soaps, TV with good selection, wi-fi easy to access,ample table/desk for laptop, etc.

Beyond basics, if someone were planning to "headquarter" here, they'd find it remarkably well equipped for a longer stay: ironing board and iron, stove, fridge, sink, toaster, coffee pot, microwave, and cupboards full of all the kitchen equipment you might want, including wine glasses, all immaculately clean.

Very reasonably priced. As noted before, if designer decor is your priority, you would do well to go elsewhere, and most assuredly pay much more.

Room Tip: Room 7 is well back from the road and like all room, allows for parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this motel from the reviews I read. The people running the motel are very friendly. It is an older motel but family run and I like that. It was very clean and would recommend for price and convenience. The continental breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knotty Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knotty Pine Motel

Address: 130 Northside Drive, Bennington, VT 05201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Year Round Hospitality." Each charming, spotless room is first floor level entry with refrigerators, microwaves, A/C, wireless internet access, cable TV. Our family's reputation for courteous service and attention to detail spans 41 years! It is our goal to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in Bennington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knotty Pine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knotty Pine Hotel Bennington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knotty Pine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.