We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Clean Room & Pet Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knotty Pine Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knotty Pine Motel to your Saves list
Knotty Pine Motel
130 Northside Drive, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Milford, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Location & Clean Room & Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small motel but we preferred it over larger motel chains. The decor is older but our room was quite clean. We could park our car in front of our room so luggage was no problem. The motel was close to Bennington. It is a dog friendly motel. Breakfast offerings are limited but close to good breakfast places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Bennington College with my daughter.
We were made to feel welcome, and it's location worked out well for us. I was able to get a good picture of what the town was like and how that relates to the college.
Thanks for the suggestions of where to go to eat:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Knotty Pine with my husband and our (small dog). The motel is everything it bills itself as - a nice, local, family-run, dog-friendly motel. The room was very cozy and the grounds well kept. We enjoyed the fridge and micro in the room. The amenities were basic. Our dog loved his first motel stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a third visit to the Knotty Pine in the last 5 years. While it is not a "fancy" motel it is incredible clean and comfortable. We were there for a dog event and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. My husband snores and they offered adjoining rooms. While it is an older motel, every time we come you can see the improvements being made. Love, love, love this motel. Will always stay here when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Next time we will book earlier and get the 2 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Charming roadside motel w/old-fashioned quality, ambiance and value. Under $75 got us a beautiful double-queen bed room w/ more amenities than you'd find in upscale, larger, way more pricey hotels/motels. Off of a main road, but set back enough that road noise is near non-existent. Very clean and well-maintained. Pretty outside and quaint inside. Very friendly and caring managers. Pet friendly place, too. Micro & fridge, coffee maker, alarm clocks, hair dryer, Wifi, flat screen, phones, plenty of high-quality towels, great hot water, very clean, table & chairs, desk & chair, parking outside door (angled spaces so no one can park right on top of you).

Great value and would definitely stay again. Although didn't have a chance to explore much, it's in close proximity to many tourist venues and in the heart of great skiing country & foliage viewing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here because we needed a dog-friendly motel. The Knotty Pine was inexpensive, and did not charge any extra fee for dogs. We were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The couple who own the motel are friendly and helpful, and our room was much more than we expected. Clean, and appointed with everything we could need: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wifi, plush towels, two comfy chairs, and a sparkling clean bathroom. If I had to name cons, I can only come up with flat pillows (we didn't request extras, so it's our own fault) and the shortest bathtub I have ever sat in. But everything in the bath looked new and sparkling. We would definitely stay here again if we needed to be in Bennington.

Room Tip: We were given room 8 - one bed, on the end next to the dog walk area. Very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear vtteach60,

Thank you so very much for the kind review! We strive to ensure all of our guest, even the four legged ones, have a pleasant stay at the Knotty Pine and it is very rewarding to hear that we are doing a good job of it. I am sorry the pillows weren't comfortable and I do wish you had contacted us...all of our rooms have extra pillows in the armoire drawers.
We look forward to a future visit from you and your pet!

Warmest Regards,
Betsy Bluto Woods~Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Bennington for those on the road. It is located right off of a main road but was not noisy whatsoever. You have your own parking spot right in front of your room (which is a private complex). The room was nice, warm, and came with a fridge, microwave and free wifi. The front desk was very hospitable and helpful (even when you lock yourself out!). They provided us with information about the Bennington area when we arrived, and we found this to be helpful in navigating. FYI: there is no restaurant or any other facilities on campus. We would come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knotty Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knotty Pine Motel

Address: 130 Northside Drive, Bennington, VT 05201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Year Round Hospitality." Each charming, spotless room is first floor level entry with refrigerators, microwaves, A/C, wireless internet access, cable TV. Our family's reputation for courteous service and attention to detail spans 41 years! It is our goal to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in Bennington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knotty Pine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knotty Pine Hotel Bennington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knotty Pine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.