We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bennington Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bennington Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bennington Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   143 W Main St, Vt Rte 9, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel was cheaper than some of the others in the area. Friendly clerk. Hotel is in nice part of town near the monument. Room was older looking, but clean and safe. Free HBO too. Would recommend for the $$.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When locals sell out to South Asians running their first motel, they really owe it to them to give them a quick course in quality control. If you put out the cheapest pillows, linens, window furnishings, toiletries, skimp on electrical outlets, an embarrassingly awful "continental" breakfast spread, then charge $40 more than you should, it will come back to bite you in the end.

Walls very thin, Brochure of activities in room had NOTHING in it.

Room Tip: Try another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our room was a bit tight for four people but very clean. Perfect location on the way into town from New York. A very nice man greeted us at the desk in the wee hours when we arrived. We were sorry we had to leave early and miss the continental breakfast...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently spent one night here. we had a double up in the back so there was no problem with noise or stairs to climb. the man who greeted us was friendly and the room was clean. This is an older motel that has had some updating, although it is still a bit dated. Breakfast (bagels, packaged danish, mini chocolate donuts, bananas, apples, coffee and oj and some cereal) is served in the reception area BUT you have to carry your breakfast on a tray back to your room since there is no area to eat it otherwise, which I really didn't like. The bed also appeared to be a full size and was a bit cramped. I feel the price we paid was high compared to what we got and so the negatives of the room are annoying me more than if it have been appropriately priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The facility offered reasonable value for Bennington and the location was convenient. There is a friendly family that lives on premises and manages the facility. We would recommend staying here as a base for exploring Bennington.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Although our room was very clean, the use of multiple floral patterns on the walls, bed, and windows gave the impression of an old and unkempt room. Room was very tiny. Being along the main street, it was very noisy, especially when the gas delivery truck backed into the gas station across the street. Noise doesn't usually bother us, but this was annoying. Breakfast consisted of prepackaged sweet rolls (yuck), or a few donuts left on a tray with no protection from previous guests coughing or sneezing on them (another yuck). Orange juice was from a jug that had been sitting out for who knows how long, and had a buildup of thick juice at the spout.

This hotel was way overpriced for what you get. We could have tolerated all of this for $30 less, but not for the top dollar we were paying. Lesson learned.

We have stayed in mom and pop places many times before, and know what to expect, but this was way below the usual standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice , laidback, the rooms are clean, its very comfortable, it was built in the 40's or 50's , but it in
wonderfull shape, and this location is great, if your a car buff, its across the street, if your into American History, look to your left! The price is right,the staff were very friendly. Now its down to the Blue Diner!! Tomorrow up to Manchester, Factory Outlets!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bennington Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennington Motor Inn

Address: 143 W Main St, Vt Rte 9, Bennington, VT 05201
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bennington Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Bennington Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bennington Motor Hotel Bennington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennington Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.