We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bennington Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Bennington Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bennington Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   143 W Main St, Vt Rte 9, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Bennington
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The facility offered reasonable value for Bennington and the location was convenient. There is a friendly family that lives on premises and manages the facility. We would recommend staying here as a base for exploring Bennington.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Although our room was very clean, the use of multiple floral patterns on the walls, bed, and windows gave the impression of an old and unkempt room. Room was very tiny. Being along the main street, it was very noisy, especially when the gas delivery truck backed into the gas station across the street. Noise doesn't usually bother us, but this was annoying. Breakfast consisted of prepackaged sweet rolls (yuck), or a few donuts left on a tray with no protection from previous guests coughing or sneezing on them (another yuck). Orange juice was from a jug that had been sitting out for who knows how long, and had a buildup of thick juice at the spout.

This hotel was way overpriced for what you get. We could have tolerated all of this for $30 less, but not for the top dollar we were paying. Lesson learned.

We have stayed in mom and pop places many times before, and know what to expect, but this was way below the usual standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice , laidback, the rooms are clean, its very comfortable, it was built in the 40's or 50's , but it in
wonderfull shape, and this location is great, if your a car buff, its across the street, if your into American History, look to your left! The price is right,the staff were very friendly. Now its down to the Blue Diner!! Tomorrow up to Manchester, Factory Outlets!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here recently for the antique car and truck show. Loved that it was right across the street from Hemmings and close to where the show was held. Overall the place was quiet, clean, and comfortable! Coffee, refrigerator and micro in room was very convenient. The owners are very sweet. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 1st floor, room 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose Bennington Motor Inn because they accepted dogs. I had read the reviews online and was a little worried. It turned out ok. The location is great. I loved that we could walk to downtown Bennington restaurants etc. The breakfast is bare bones. If you are into carbs you'd be happy - packaged cinnamon buns and danishes. A piece of fruit. Cereal. Nothing big but they stated on the website that this was all there is. It was enough for my kids for 3 days. More about the location. There is a lot within a very short driving distance. We visited three covered bridges all very close. The inn itself has no common areas, just your room. The room reminded me of staying at my grandmothers house as a kid. Wicker furniture. Big colorful bedspreads. kind of tacky wallpaper. Almost going back in time and I don't necessarily say that in a good way. But, it was fine for me. It was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a fancy place with service, not the place. It really is just a place to sleep. The innkeepers were ok, not super friendly. I think for the price it was a good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nothing fancy, small, but very clean and comfortable. Bath was tiny by modern standards, but functional and very clean. It is a nice location very close to downtown, and if you are a classic car fan, right across the street from Hemmings. Loved it and are planning a return trip in September for the Bennington Car Show.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Myself and 2 sons were on a little road trip. Staff were polite and friendly. Bathrooms are a bit tight. Rooms are small as well. All in all it was nice and clean. The breakfast was more of a snack on the run. As was mentioned in another review, ask for ground level room. much easier than carrying bags upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bennington Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennington Motor Inn

Address: 143 W Main St, Vt Rte 9, Bennington, VT 05201
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bennington Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bennington Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bennington Motor Hotel Bennington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennington Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.