We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Publyk House

The Publyk House
782 Harwood Hill Road, Bennington, VT 05201
802.442.7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Bennington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

The Publyk House was recommended by the hotel we are staying at this weekend and while I have been steered wrong in the past by some of these recommendations this one was great. The atmosphere of the restaurant was welcoming and comfortable with what appeared to be a pretty big happy hour crowd. We chose to sit in the dinning room rather than the bar as it was quieter in there. We started with the baked Brie which was different than expected but really outstanding, make sure you try it. Our server, Sophie was friendly and efficient and made the night that much more enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    46
    30
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

While they didn't have a specific gluten free menu, the staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable and created a safe dish for me to eat that was very tasty too! The view is *spectacular* and was a great ending to a weekend trip through VT. I'd go back for the view and their wonderful service!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's great food but the staff should be more attentive ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Really cannot commend the food highly enough, the cod was superb, the meatloaf perfect, great local brown ale to wash it down but the waiting staff need a bit of a kick up the butt, not to be in your face but to keep an eye on tables so that courses are cleared and refreshed in a timely manner. It wasn't busy, there were plenty of them so it's a small but important thing to fix.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePublykHouse, Owner at The Publyk House, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for choosing The Publyk House while you were traveling. We appreciate the business and your comments. You are absolutely right. Our waitstaff does need to step it up. Tables should always be cleared in a timely manner whether we're busy or not. We will address this comment at our next staff meeting and hope that next time you're here that not only live up to your expectations, but exceed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Falls, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Easter sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious Easter Sunday dinner. Everything was wonderful...food, staff, decor. I will definitely be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePublykHouse, Owner at The Publyk House, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We love holidays and work very heard to set up delectable buffets for special occasions such as Easter. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food after a long day sightseeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a nice experience at the Publyk House. It's a pretty, converted barn with lovely views. We had a nice hostess and attentive server (Rachel). The salad bar is nice. I had the 'blue Ox' (I think that's the name). The steak was done to perfection. It's not creative dining, but it's tasty, well prepared food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Publyk House also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Publyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Publyk House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.