We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Stark Trail

Molly Stark Trail
Bennington, VT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 attractions in Bennington
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Viewing foliage, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 40-mile scenic drive between Bennington and Brattleboro.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Stunning Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took this drive from Bennington to Brattleboro. There are numerous hiking opportunities along the route, but unfortunately we didn’t plan enough time to do any of them. I can’t count the number of times we pulled off for pictures. We were there in the first week of October and the colors were brilliant, although they hadn’t peaked. They needed another week. We passed through several small towns, one with a picturesque covered bridge right beside the road. If you want to take in a hike or two and explore the littl bergs, I can see this drive taking all day. For us though, it was only about two hours. I wish we’d have had more time to explore the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Definitely worth the drive. Lots of scenic places to stop, my husband and I really enjoyed the Mount Olga trail at Molly Stark State Park, the fire tower at the top gives an amazing view of the surrounding mountains. We also enjoyed Green Mountain National Forest - Little Pond, we didn't complete that hike, but what we did see was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I hike as often as possible. I love the kiosks and the well kept trails. I will spend next summer going more often and to other parts of the trail, I cannot wait!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Driving along the picturesque road fills your senses with delight. There is a river that runs along the road - the rocks were covered with snow and the water glistened in the sunshine. There are some little shops every so often to stop in - some churches to photograph and some parks where there are trails if you like to hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Heading to Benninotn VT? Take the Molly Stark Trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Truly, a beautiful road. My wife and drove this road this fall, absolutely a must see. BUT, don't be in a hurry, it is too beautiful to zip by. Plan on making multiple stops to enjoy the views and the scenery. Make sure you take your camera. This is difinitely a must see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Stark Trail also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Molly Stark Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Stark Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Molly Stark Trail to your Saves list