We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont in the Fall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn

Save Saved
You added Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   141 W Main St, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get a free night
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Bennington
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vermont in the Fall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

We stayed at the Paradise Motor Inn recently on a trip to Maine. We booked directly with the hotel. Although the dates were wrong on my confirmation (which I did not notice at the time), they honored the reservation with a room upgrade! Very nice and friendly place. It is a motor inn but very convenient to town and the room has the normal amenities (no coffee in the room). The breakfast is not really a contiental breakfast as defined by most people. There is coffee and tea (unlimited) and cakes or muffins, but not anything more than that (no butter, or rolls or fruit). Having said that, the price is right and the location is great for exploring the Green Mountains. Bennington is a nice town with enough establishments to enjoy dinner and have a relaxing time. One thing I will add is that they have a very nice piece of property, which our room faced (with a nice balcony).

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    20
    18
    1
See reviews for
31
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I have been staying at The Paradise since I was a student in Bennington many years ago, and with only a few exceptions, have always been delighted with the accomodations and the service at the Paradise. It is, indeed, one of the best values around. Now, my husband and I are "regulars" as we stay here when we come up for Williamstown Theatre Festival and even Tanglewood. It is a bit far if you are going to Tanglewood on multiple days and performances, but for one or two days the drive is not that bad, and with what one saves in hotel bills, you can easily treat yourself to a great meal or another concert or play. The hotel/motel is clean, the rooms nice and bright and the pool and the gardens are lovely. I have been to the Paradise on a few occasions when there have been noisy people in the building, but that can happen anywhere. Please note that I have become very picky about where we stay and have walked out of hotels in the US and Europe. The Paradise does not pretend to be something it isn't, which is more than I can say for most places, especially in the Berkshires. I have become so tired of so-called "luxurious" bed and breakfasts with "home-cooked" breakfasts, only to find that the room was small, there was inadequate heat and, more importantly, A/C, the breakfasts were mediocre and the property was not kept up properly, and all this for $225+per night in most cases, not counting taxes! The Paradise is a welcome relief. And the continental breakfast is fine, if you want something more, you can go to Friendly's or to the great Isabella's on Main Street.

There is also new management at The Paradise (but with the same family ownership) and the level of courteous service has increased. There is now a computer in the lobby to check email and the front desk staff are very helpful.

My one comment is that some of the mattresses need to be replaced. I would gladly pay an extra $10-15 for a little higher quality mattress. However, having said that, we will continue to come to the Paradise and enjoy the best value in Southern Vermont, now if only the pool were enclosed for winter swimming! Thanks for all the good times.

  • Liked — the nice room and the value for money
  • Disliked — sometimes can be a little noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — request a "premier room" overlooking the pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Ct
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

The Paradise Motor Inn is one of the nicest motels in Bennington (which isn't saying much, really -- most of the others are in commercial areas, strip malls, etc.), but it has a couple of faults:

Service at the front desk is so-so -- my wife left a couple of items of clothing behind, phoned them two hours after we left asking that someone could retrieve them from the drawers, and all she got was a runaround, "call tomorrow," etc. Yes, of course the maid took them, even though left items are supposed to go in Lost and Found, but no one would admit it, and the manager was, conveniently, always unavailable when my wife asked to speak with him.

The pool is nice -- clean and well-kept -- but on our last night became the scene of a middle-aged frat party: A group of maybe 15 guys arrived -- they looked like sales reps or factory guys going to a convention -- and took over the pool area: beer coolers, lots of cavorting, drinking in the pool as well as around it, ogling the few women trying to enjoy the sun, etc. Despite the management having literally carved the pool rules in stone -- yes, there's a stone tablet with the rules right there -- nobody said anything. I guess the rules are bent when business is slow and a big group arrives. The next morning they were out there at 7.30, nursing hangovers.

Continental breakfast is so-so, but no worse than at other places. Why don't motels just knock ten bucks off the room rate and let you find your own breakfast?

The rooms are nice, although ours was quite dark with limited artificial lights. The motel is set back from the road (Rt. 9), so it's quiet, and downtown Old Bennington -- a couple of restaurants, used bookshop, assorted stores -- is a 10-minute walk away. The Panda Garden, a pretty good Chinese place with a sushi bar, is right in front of the motel, too.

Would I stay at the Paradise again? Probably not, but only because of our personal, and maybe unusual, experiences. It's an okay place if you're spending a couple of days in Bennington, and don't want to cough up big bucks for an inn or B&B.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — So-so service
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out if there's a group staying at the motel before booking. The pool can get rowdy, and drinking is allowed there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

What an amazoing find away from the ordinary. I was especially impressed with the gardens and flowers. My wife and I are looking forward to returning toward the end of season just in time to enjoy the pool!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

My Husband and I stayed here at Paradise Motor Inn for one night during an extensive roadtrip in October 2005
We were more than pleased with the accomodation. We just turned up late afternoon, and had the last room, we stayed in the ground (1st floor) in the separate block towards the rear of the hotel. We were pleased with the room, which was spacious and clean - nice small shower room, and fluffy towels. We overlooked a tennis court, we slept so well when we went to the reception area for complementary juice / coffee and muffins/ cake the carpark was practically empty.
We had a good meal in the town - in a pub that was a brewery, then went across the road to a bar, to watch a ball game - the guy behind the bar was really friendly - not many folks in, all locals, but really nice atmosphere.
There were loads of Moose (painted statues) around the town - Moosefest 2005. Fantastic, took loads piccies.
We also wnet to the Bennington Monument - worth a trip - just hope a coach party aren't there as lift can only take a few people at a time - but well worth the view is ace. Loads of covered bridges in the Bennington area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

A group of ten adults stayed for a long weekend. The hotel was simple, but clean and service good. The lobby had coffee, juice, and muffins every morning and they where very good. We where about a three block walk to the center of town. Plenty of shopping and resturants. Nice pool area for use in the summer. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

Having been somewhat apprehensive we found this is a pleasant hotel with the room and facilities being comparable with much more expensive hotels. Probably the best value of the 10 hotels we recently used in New England.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Address: 141 W Main St, Bennington, VT 05201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise Inn is Bennington’s most unique place to stay. Enveloped in gardens and lawns, the Inn is quiet, secluded, peaceful, yet just five minutes from quaint downtown Bennington by foot, where you’ll find shops and great restaurants, coffee and pizza, a fantastic gym and much more. Our 77 rooms are clean, spacious, and well-maintained, and priced ever-so-reasonably. The prefect lodging for individuals, couples, families, and groups, our rooms come in a variety of sizes, from Suites with patios or decks to comfortable economy rooms with king/queen or double beds. Our pool is solar heated to just the right temperature in the summer and surrounded by a slate-stone patio with many chairs and umbrella covered tables. There's great dining just a minute walk away or in downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Bennington
Paradise Motel Bennington
Paradise Motor Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.