We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicapped Accessable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Paradise Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   141 W Main St, Bennington, VT 05201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Handicapped Accessable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Paradise Inn. The reason that we even tried this hotel is because we have previously stayed at the Best Western in Bennington, however we chose to find a new hotel because the beds at the Best Western in the handicapped accessable rooms were too high. I had to pull my husband into bed every night last year.
I called around to most of the hotels in Bennington and found that the Paradise Inn did have a fully handicapped room available for the dates we were going. I have to admit that we were a bit aprehensive because this was not a chain hotel. We were,however pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was nice certainly large enough for the wheelchair, the bathroom was large with a roll in shower that also had a shelf at the far end for someone to sit on and a moveable showerhead. The bed was kingsize and a good height for my husband to get into without my assistance. The room was clean, the furnishings were a bit dated but nice. There were two highbacked stuffed chairs,a dresser, a table/desk area where my husband could set up the computer and two end tables by the bed. We were on the first floor and had a nice sliding glass door onto a small patio that looked onto the parking lot. I was pleased to see that there were two locks on the glass slider and a lock on the screen. The weekend that we were there the weather was too hot and humid to use the screen but it was nice to see that on another trip we could use it if the weather was cooperating. The only thing that was slightly dissapointing was the fact that there was no breakfast included with the room. They did have coffee and tea in the mornings which was very good. They also have a pool, and a tennis court. We did not use either of these, however I did take a walk around the grounds one night. They were nice enough although they did look like they could use a little grooming around the edges. The pool looked very refreshing and clean.
Overall I know that we will be staying at this hotel again next year, as it had what we needed and was clean and all the staff that we dealt with were very pleasant.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are a bit larger and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    24
    21
    5
See reviews for
42
59
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I picked this hotel for its location. We booked several rooms for two nights as we had a family funeral to attend. Originally, I booked the room for the location. Right after I booked it, it came to my attention that a discount could be given, which I found out online, if you stayed for two nights. I immediately phoned back and they did honor this discount. It would have been nicer if they would have offered the discount when I called the first time. Check in was efficient and the rooms were all very clean. We were in and out frequently and spent some time socializing in the lobby sitting area but I did notice the staff were unfriendly, never greeting us when we were in and out, hardly acknowledging our existence at all. This was true when checking out also. The whole family was happy with the accommodations overall as the rooms were comfortable and clean. No free breakfast as advertised but they did provide coffee in a room off the lobby which was complimentary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Suffield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I shouldn't give away the secret, but this Inn is in a great spot for the Battenkill road race in April. We have stayed here twice in a row now, and it is less than 30 minutes to the race and you avoid all the Battenkill mayhem. I gave it a Very Good rating, not because it is a luxury hotel (which it definitely isn't), but for the very decent price we have gotten each time, we had a large room for 2 couples that easily stored 4 bikes and all our gear, it was clean, we got a free cup of fresh coffee in the morning and the staff has always been nice. For a bed the night before a race, that's all we needed. If you want nice food in Bennington, go to Pangaea - they have a fine dining restaurant and a Lounge. Both offer excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011. The room we had was on the ground floor in the building that backs onto the pool. The hall ways are musty smelling and so was the room. We left the patio door open and A/C on to try to freshen up the room. The beds were decent, and the room was clean enough. The pool area could be spectacular if they would keep it cleaner. When we arrived around 5 pm the pool pump was not running, and the pool was covered with pine needles from the overhanging trees. The bottom of the pool was also full of debris. This could be solved with leaving the pump running to keep the water filtered.
I feel this hotel could stand an update, and if it was done properly it would be a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and fairly spacious. We had a door onto a patio, but people sitting right outside wasn't great for privacy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Do not stay here if you want a good nights sleep. We stayed on the ground floor and were kept awake most of the night by people walking on the floor above. The floors are so thin it sounded like a herd of elelphants above. Reception staff disinterested . No breakfast. No wifi in room only in reception.
If we had been booked for more than one night we would have left. There are many motels in the area there must be a better place than this.

Room Tip: Do not book ground floor room. Internet only in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We ( 2 parents, two kids: 8 and 10) stayed there for two nights. The motel is clean but the rooms are very dark and have not been redecorated since the late 70's. It was way too expensive for what it was. We payed more there than at a top hotel in Boston... The garden and the pool are very nice and well tended though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Address: 141 W Main St, Bennington, VT 05201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise Inn is Bennington’s most unique place to stay. Enveloped in gardens and lawns, the Inn is quiet, secluded, peaceful, yet just five minutes from quaint downtown Bennington by foot, where you’ll find shops and great restaurants, coffee and pizza, a fantastic gym and much more. Our 77 rooms are clean, spacious, and well-maintained, and priced ever-so-reasonably. The prefect lodging for individuals, couples, families, and groups, our rooms come in a variety of sizes, from Suites with patios or decks to comfortable economy rooms with king/queen or double beds. Our pool is solar heated to just the right temperature in the summer and surrounded by a slate-stone patio with many chairs and umbrella covered tables. There's great dining just a minute walk away or in downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Bennington
Paradise Motel Bennington
Paradise Motor Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.