We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing train ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Railroad

Green Mountain Railroad
54 Depot Street, P.O. Box 498, Bellows Falls, VT
802-463-3069
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Attraction details
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nice relaxing train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

it was a bit of a rainy day but still was a nice train ride. the conductor seemed to be well versed in the area's history and was very interesting. the trip is only 2 hours round trip and there is much foliage blocking the view at many parts along the way but that is to be expected along a railroad track. only one stop for anyone who wanted to visit the hands on science museum. the motion of the train is relaxing. we saw someone rocked to sleep! enjoyable train ride. they also have a little store to buy souvenirs.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cancelled our trip - UNBELIEVABLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our group (of 29 people) made arrangements to go on this train ride months ago. We were doing a train related tour of Vermont and this was to be one of the highlights. Imagine our disappointment when the Green Mountain Railroad CANCELLED us two days before our scheduled trip! We had a written contract and Green Mountain Railroad doesn't seem to care about that.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun! Romantic, too!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Old fashioned green Mtn. RR cars. Check out the website. be sure to Plan the afternoon/return trip. I have gone on the rideseveral times. Buy tickets @ the hardware store in Chester for the scenic ride. http://www.rails-vt.com/green-mountain-flyer

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ride into the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

A special journey to take with your family, as you wind through the green mountains to Chester, VT

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have taken a "Mothers Day" train ride through the Green Mountain RR and besides the fact that it was slighly pricey, it was a nice trip that I will always remember,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mountain Railroad also viewed

 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Green Mountain Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.