We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time experience in a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellows Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn
16 Webb Terrace, Bellows Falls, VT 05101   |  
Hotel amenities
Auburn, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“First time experience in a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the first time my husband & I tried a B&B. It was quite a pleasant experience. The inn is welcoming and comfortable and innkeepers Kathy and Phil went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Kathy had chocolate cookies in the oven for guests; infused water when we arrived. She gave us a book that included all the current menus of the different places to eat in town with offers to call and make reservations for us. Phil's Italian Brunch Torte was absolutely delicious. I Highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a place to stay in Vermont. Thank you Kathy & Phil for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is the highest compliment we can get. We are so glad that your first experience with a B & B was with us and you were so happy with it. We love taking care of guests and making them feel at home. Thank you for a pleasant experience. It was a pleasure having you here.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although Halladay’s was a bit of a drive from our weekend destination (the Marlboro Music Festival, about 45 minutes away), our visit last year convinced us that it was worth a return stay. The innkeepers, Kathy and Phil, were wonderful hosts, and Phil’s breakfasts were outstanding and generous. Along with very comfortable rooms and great breakfasts, there are snacks offered late-afternoon (crackers, dips), and cookies and coffee/tea all day. If you’re exploring the area, Halladay’s offers brochures, maps, and suggested back-roads routes where you can visit tourist attractions that might not be found in a travel guide. There’s so much to see and do, whether you choose to visit some of the many food sites (cheese, chocolate, maple products — and of course Ben and Jerry’s Factory tour), or the many beautiful state parks within a hour’s drive. Just driving along the back roads in Vermont is a pleasurable experience; it’s the only place in the US that you won’t find billboards, just unadulterated scenery, even along the interstates. Halladay’s offers many suggestions to enhance your visit to the area and beyond, and it’s a wonderful place to return to after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review. Once again, our wonderful guests made it easy to be good hosts. There are so many beautiful views in Vermont. We love that we are a part of making our guests experience here worth coming back to.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family had a great experience staying at the Harvest Barn Inn. Kathy and Phil could not have been more accomodating, they even let us borrow their car to run into town for dinner (we were on a family cycling trip). Following a morning cup of coffee on the porch overlooking the river we were treated to a fantastic breakfast. This was our first stay at the Inn but it felt like we were staying with good neighbors.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much! What a compliment to be compared to a good neighbor! You are a lovely family and we enjoyed having you here. It was very cool to be part of your bicycling journey. We were glad you made it to your next stop without getting soaked! Enjoy your summer!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn and really enjoyed ourselves. The inn is welcoming and comfortable and innkeepers Kathy and Phil went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, including all the current menus of the different places to eat in town. The river view is lovely and the common space for guests includes a country-style dining room and a room with space to sit and talk and plug in your computer--wi-fi has a strong signal and is free. Breakfast was delicious and very ample, and we give the inn maximum stars as a relaxed and worry-free place to stay in Bellows Falls.

Room Tip: The river view room on the first floor is also air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much.It was a pleasure meeting you both and hearing about Vermont's capital. It sounds like a great place to visit also! We hope you you enjoyed your meandering back home. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We meant to write this sooner. Our stay at the Harvest Barn was in May but just needed to say how wonderful it was. The host and hostess could not have been more accommodating. Kathy and Phil provided an early breakfast for us to fit our early departure. The gourmet breakfast was delicious....everything was perfect. The scenery, the staff, the room, the atmosphere, the whole experience was "top notch". Have mentioned it to our friends and hoping to come back again soon. Thank you so much.....and anyone thinking of visiting Bellows Falls or areas around there, do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a pleasant stay at the Inn.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much! We really enjoyed meeting and talking with you both. We appreciated sharing information about our community. We are very lucky to have the opportunity to meet nice people like you. We hope to see you again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at the Inn far exceeded our highest expectations. Relaxation was top priority for us on our anniversary weekend and Kathy and Phill came through for us! We stayed in the Orchard Suite for two nights and had the most delicious breakfast each morning. The Inn overlooks the Connecticut River and the view is peaceful from the front porch. The private deck off our room is the perfect place to sit and talk. Over the years we have frequented several B&B's and Inns, and this really topped the charts for us. We've made plans to return for years to come.

Room Tip: The Orchard Suite was perfect for privacy and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much! It is so rewarding to know that we achieved our goal of providing the perfect week-end for you both. Anniversaries are always a special occasion and being able to make one more memorable is really nice. Even if it is as easy as just letting you sleep in!

We wish you many more memorable anniversaries.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent stay on a beautiful little hillside overlooking the River in Bellows Falls, Vermont. Upon my check in and through out my entire stay, it was a treat to come home to Phill and Kathy no matter what time I popped in and out of The Harvest Barn Inn. Please do not let this name fool you, this is a quaint little welcoming home, the dining area, parlor and lounge are all available to the guests. Sample the Halladay's dips in the evening when you need a nice snack, there is always a treat ready for a taste. My room was very clean, the towels were luscious and the silence was golden at night. Not only did I find the Inn Keepers top notch, I also enjoyed the other travelers staying at the Inn. It was a special weekend and I was lucky to meet some very special guests during my stay. If I am fortunate enough to make the journey to Bellow's Falls next June, I would hope to sample the same hospitality and value shown to me during this pleasant stay. Did I mention the breakfasts were really yummy?

Room Tip: As was mentioned in another review, walking the main Route 5 in BF is not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for that review! We loved having you here! You became part of the family! It is easy to be good hosts when one is fortunate enough to have such awesome guests. We enjoyed listening to your music and singing. We look forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn

Address: 16 Webb Terrace, Bellows Falls, VT 05101
Location: United States > Vermont > Bellows Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellows Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvest Barn Inn is a charming, casual, affordable place to stay in Southern Vermont/New Hampshire. We offer gorgeous views, clean, quiet, cozy rooms and outrageously good breakfasts, all for about the same price as a standard hotel.We offer cooking and crafting classes, room for families to re-connect, and romantic getaway packages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn to your Saves list