We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Burger Joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shona Grill

Shona Grill
2 Rockingham St, Bellows Falls, VT 05101 (Formerly Fat Franks)
(802) 460-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs, Hamburgers
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Alstead, NH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

My husband and I finally decided to give Shona another go after trying it shortly after reopening (after Fat Franks closed) and MAN are we happy we did! The burgers are really, really good. Tasty local beef with excellent choices for toppings to keep everyone happy. Great little spot for an inexpensive dinner with a really friendly, welcoming staff. Nice to have another option in BF for a low key meal

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Falls, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grill to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Just swinging through bellows falls ,Vt. Looking for a good lunch
Swung through Main Street once and nothing caught out eye stopped next to vow and quizzed the locals man did we strike luncheon gold
What we found was amazing

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Local & Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The best burgers ever. % guys has nothing on this place....they only use local meat, fresh veggies, etc.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Killer local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We came here for 3 reasons. We are on our way from Boston to visit Middlebury College, it was lunch time and it was the top rated place on Trip Advisor. What a charming, fantastic spot. Fabulous tasty burgers, addictive fries - they brought us some yummy dipping sauces unprompted - served by a friendly staff in a funky warm atmosphere. Sure hope my kid get accepted so we can return!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Local place with local meat and good onion rings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We love this place on nights we don't feel like cooking or for a casual night with friends. You can bring your own wine or beer, you order downstairs and they bring your food up to you. They use locally sourced meats and sausages and have good fries and yummy onion rings.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shona Grill also viewed

Bellows Falls, VT
Bellows Falls, VT
 

Been to Shona Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shona Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.