We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful nostalgia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin City Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin City Motel
Save
You added Twin City Motel to your Saves list
1537 US Rte 302, Near Montpelier, Barre, VT 05641   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barre
Claymont, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The motel was built around 1955 and has been lovingly maintained (there's still a mounted bottle opener in the bathroom) . The owners are exceedingly friendly and welcoming. Perhaps some find the rooms small by today's standards, but it was the perfect size for us. Everything was immaculately clean. Road noise was not an issue. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
35
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although we wanted a bed & breakfast, I am now glad that they were all booked, as we had a wonderful experience at this quaint motel at half the cost. First impression: small, but extremely clean. We are used to the cramped quarters of a cruise ship cabin, so we didn't mind the size. TV and Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Owners were very nice and helpful. Very convenient spot, and parking was right outside your door. The cross breeze made for very comfy sleeping with no need for A/C although there was one if needed. Landscaping is beautiful, and we had an interesting conversation with the owner about how he trims the 20+ foot bushes! We would recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Clean and inexpensive. Owner was helpful and even stayed open late for us when we arrived about 15 minutes after their normal front desk closing time. Only complaint is that it is close to a busy two-lane highway so we had a fair amount of road noise. WIFI in some of the rooms (I think it reaches the motel rooms but not the cottages).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Selected this motel because reviews were so good BUT room was musty, afraid I would be sick sleeping in it with mold allergies, and bathroom was so small that my 6'2" son could barely use the facilities there - too small for shaving or changing clothes so privacy was an issue. The beds, room temp were fine and television was nice; wireless very spotty. Overall, would not stay here again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask about mustiness and bathroom size when booking - motel might have better rooms than cottages, wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really loved this motel. The owners are a husband and wife who were really nice and obviously committed to providing a good experience for their guests. We had hoped to stay in a bed and breakfast to get the full Vermont experience, but with little kids (and a tight budget), we were having a hard time finding something appropriate. After a lot of research, this is the best priced independent hotel in the area, and it is a great one. They don't serve breakfast, but they do offer morning coffee/tea. The night before we had stayed in a chain-hotel in Maine where everything was brand-new but felt cheap and not nice. I commented to my husband that this motel was exactly the opposite-- not new but very nice. It was like staying at someone's home. Our room was extremely clean. We loved the bedding (cozy comforters, nice sheets). We had a nice new couch, arm chair, microwave, and fridge in our room. They thoughtfully had a map of the area on the desk. We were in the area to do the whole Ben & Jerry's/Cabots/Cold Hollow Cider Mill thing, and this was a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found this motel on Tripadvisor and decided to try it out. We were looking for a place north of Hanover, NH that was economical. We were thrilled with the homey feeling in the room. It was quaint, cozy and very neat and clean. The owners were gracious hosts and were easy to work with. My husband said the coffee in the office the next morning was really good too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by a lady at The Bragg Maple syrup farm. We called, they had one room left on a very busy Columbus day weekend. We stopped by and stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is very clean, rooms a little small, but very comfortable beds. This is not a high end hotel, and you are not paying high end prices ! We based out of here and went on some great day trips , with the assistance of the owners. You could not find nicer folks to chat with each morning over coffee in the hotels lobby. Gave us excellent advice on some great restaurants in the area, and some real nice drives to view the beautiful foliage . If ever in this area, we will definately stop here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin City Motel

Address: 1537 US Rte 302, Near Montpelier, Barre, VT 05641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barre
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Twin City Hotel Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.