We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central VT Tourist Trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rock of Ages

Rock of Ages
560 Graniteville Road, Barre, VT 05654
877-870-9057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Barre
Type: Mines, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Group tours/bus tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest quarry.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Central VT Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Yes, interesting to a degree. However, it is really just a big hole in he ground and a museum that is really not much more than a merchandise store.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“More fun than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I have lived in Vermont all our lives and we recently visited Rock of Ages for the first time. The tour was interesting and the quarry was really worth seeing. Truly Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Bus ride to a quarry after a short video explaining the process of granite removal and processing.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
196 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
“Great Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Visited here while recently touring Vermont. This attraction is not to be missed. It is an informative look at how granite is quarried and used here in Vermont. Visiting Rock of Ages consists of three different experiences: Visitor's Center, Quarry tour and self-guided factory tour. The visitor's center has friendly staff and there is a gift shop with a number of items for sale and some exhibits. I did not check out the exhibits as the tour to the quarry was getting ready to leave. We left the visitor center in a bus and were driven up to the quarry viewing area a short distance from the center. At the viewing point we were able to look down to see the largest granite quarry in the world at 600 feet deep. It is an amazing sight and we had a great view. The tour guide explained how workers are dropped into the quarry to work, how the granite is cut and transported and some information about the company. We were able to see a few men working in the area. After a short stay of maybe 15 minutes we were driven back down and around the factory area to see the very large slabs of granite waiting to be used in the factory as well as the "refuse pile" of granite. When this tour was over, we were free to tour inside the factory on our own. This was probably the most interesting part as we watched workers in the huge building cutting, washing, polishing, moving, etc. granite slabs and headstones of various sizes. Signs explain the process of sandblasting the designs into the headstones and how the granite is moved throughout the factory by a system of big hoists. It was all very fascinating, but I have to admit that I love seeing how things are made.
There is a granite bowling alley that you can try out which is located outside near the factory building. I watched one family having fun trying it out. Rock of Ages was a highlight during our trip through Vermont, would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
275 attraction reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“World class granite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is one huge quarry and definitely worth the time to look it over. Watch a short film at the visitors center and get your tickets for a short trip up a hill to see the quarry. You will be amazed how deep it is and how the workers look like ants down there. Enough granite for many century's. It's a reasonable priced tour and your guide will give you all the history of Rock of Ages. Vermont granite is still what most people desire. Our courthouse back home is made with a lot of Vermont granite and it's considered one of the best in the state. Back in the late 50's they tried making a few granite bowling alleys, it didn't catch on but close to the visitors center you can try your luck on one if you desire. All in all a fun thing to do.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock of Ages also viewed

 

Been to Rock of Ages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock of Ages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.