We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and educational.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock of Ages

Rock of Ages
560 Graniteville Road, Barre, VT 05654
877-870-9057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Barre
Activities: Shopping, Group tours/bus tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest quarry.
California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Bus ride to a quarry after a short video explaining the process of granite removal and processing.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
“Great Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Visited here while recently touring Vermont. This attraction is not to be missed. It is an informative look at how granite is quarried and used here in Vermont. Visiting Rock of Ages consists of three different experiences: Visitor's Center, Quarry tour and self-guided factory tour. The visitor's center has friendly staff and there is a gift shop with a number of items for sale and some exhibits. I did not check out the exhibits as the tour to the quarry was getting ready to leave. We left the visitor center in a bus and were driven up to the quarry viewing area a short distance from the center. At the viewing point we were able to look down to see the largest granite quarry in the world at 600 feet deep. It is an amazing sight and we had a great view. The tour guide explained how workers are dropped into the quarry to work, how the granite is cut and transported and some information about the company. We were able to see a few men working in the area. After a short stay of maybe 15 minutes we were driven back down and around the factory area to see the very large slabs of granite waiting to be used in the factory as well as the "refuse pile" of granite. When this tour was over, we were free to tour inside the factory on our own. This was probably the most interesting part as we watched workers in the huge building cutting, washing, polishing, moving, etc. granite slabs and headstones of various sizes. Signs explain the process of sandblasting the designs into the headstones and how the granite is moved throughout the factory by a system of big hoists. It was all very fascinating, but I have to admit that I love seeing how things are made.
There is a granite bowling alley that you can try out which is located outside near the factory building. I watched one family having fun trying it out. Rock of Ages was a highlight during our trip through Vermont, would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“World class granite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is one huge quarry and definitely worth the time to look it over. Watch a short film at the visitors center and get your tickets for a short trip up a hill to see the quarry. You will be amazed how deep it is and how the workers look like ants down there. Enough granite for many century's. It's a reasonable priced tour and your guide will give you all the history of Rock of Ages. Vermont granite is still what most people desire. Our courthouse back home is made with a lot of Vermont granite and it's considered one of the best in the state. Back in the late 50's they tried making a few granite bowling alleys, it didn't catch on but close to the visitors center you can try your luck on one if you desire. All in all a fun thing to do.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Worth a trip from Stowe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We visited Stowe for 2 days in August, and after seeing Ben & Jerry's and other food-type attractions, we took a trip (~30-45 minutes) to see the Rock of Ages Quarry. The tour to the edge of the quarry cost $5 each, which is definitely worth it for the experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable, and really made the whole thing worthwhile. A short movie back at the main building gave more history about the company and was also enjoyable. And the view of the monument-making operations from the walkway, although a little far from some of the goings-on, was a good way to see the impressive size of the operations. The gift shop had some interesting trinkets to buy. All in all, a good way to spend a couple of hours - we and our teenage niece really enjoyed the whole experience. Be sure to visit between 9am and 3pm when the workers are actually working.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very informative! Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock of Ages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock of Ages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.