We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect Simple Pleasures at the Maple Leaf Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Leaf Inn to your Saves list
Maple Leaf Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Call for special rate!!
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expect Simple Pleasures at the Maple Leaf Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were invited to this cozy Inn in May of 2012 for my cousins wedding, I've been meaning to do this review so here it goes! The room was perfect with a lovely private bath and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The sheets and comforter were spectatacular!! We were nestled in and slept like babies, this rarely happens when I am not in my own bed. The towels were super soft. I loved that all the sheets, towels and bedding were crisp white.
Nancy & Mike prepared breakfast and are excellent cooks, I still crave the scones! The front porch is inviting, I enjoyed sitting out their just relaxing. I loved the coffee mugs with the Inn logo and have one as a keepsake that I enjoy drinking my coffee from every morning. This Inn is a hidden treasure that everyone should visit if in the area. Kudos to the Inn Keepers!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very pretty! So check out the web site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
234
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A lovely respite that impresses without pretenses. Nancy and Mike are so gracious and down to earth that checking out is more like saying "so long" to dear friends. As frequent visitors to B&B's we've become a bit discerning and The Maple Leaf Inn is now on our A list. Bright, spotless, well appointed rooms with all the accessories. Nancy and Mike have the front porch of my dreams....easy rockers looking out upon lovely landscaping, spots to gather for chats or escape for a quite read> This is a four season location that will not disappoint.

Room Tip: If you have particular needs, give them a call and they will provide the details. We enjoyed Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed B&B with a great wraparound porch to spread out on. Breakfast was splendid and plentiful. Bed was comfortable with lovely bedding. Would not hesitate to recommend to others or come again.

Room Tip: Swimming pond nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway and we returned once again to the Maple Leaf. The beds are so comfortable and the sheets are perfect. We sleep so well...then we wake up to fresh baked muffins, scones, delicious breakfast entrees and wonderful coffee.. I love the front porch as well as the library for a quick cup of coffee early on.Nancy makes wonderful food and there is enough to take away...she gave us a doggie bag for our pastry and enjoyed it at lunch. After a day's activities Mike offers a beer or glass of wine...and is happy to share local knowledge and answer all questions...without being overly intrusive. A fine line...and the Boyles are right on target as innkeepers.
We love the little "gifts" left on our pillow each night...reminders of a wonderful stay.
We left some clothing by mistake and Mike called right away and sent us the items...without any hassle at all!

This inn is immaculate and one of our favorite places. Find out for yourself!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of rooms and they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our visit to Vermont and the Maple Leaf Inn was an absolutely delightful experience. The atmosphere at the inn is warm and relaxed, but the minute one closes the bedroom door there is an elegance and luxury that rivals any upscale hotel in the most cosmopolitan of cities. The innkeepers, Nancy and Mike, have seen to every detail imaginable and their gourmet breakfasts are just delicious. A very special B&B!

Room Tip: Easy access in our first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at the Maple Leaf during our three week trip to New England.It really is a wonderful Inn,the setting is beautiful and the varied birdlife is an extra bonus. Mike and Nancy are great hosts providing the little extras which made for nice momento's of our stay.We stayed in the Garden room which is large and beautiful,the furniture is lovely,the chest of drawers is a "wow".The bed is large and extremely comfortable,the bathroom was gorgeous with a large shower.A bonus was from the bedroom windows you could spot the humming birds at the feeders,which coming from the UK was a delight,this was our first glimpse of these wonderful little birds.Breakfast was a lovely with Nancy's fresh baked goodies,really didn't need a lunch.The whole house is beautifully and tastefully furnished with an extensive library. Mike and Nancy provide an attention to detail with helpful tips and maps,we only mentioned that we would maybe like to visit Sunapee,a quick stop on a previous holiday and Mike appeared with directions.Our only gripe was that we missed a black bear that had wandered past the front porch during the night,allthough on seeing the tracks it left the following morning perhaps we were safer in the room.If you are visiting the Woodstock area from the Uk or indeed anywhere put this lovely inn on your list of "must visit".Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As the setting off point for our two week holiday we couldnt have stopped at a more perfect place. Arriving just as it was getting dusky, the house which is set back from the road up a slight slope looks spectacular, big, but inviting with warm little candle lamps glowing in each window. Mike & Nancy came out to greet us & offered help with the cases which was very welcome. The house is peaceful & makes you feel settled & at ease instantly. The "public" space is very civilised & the DVD player in the room with the offer to use the library of discs was a nice touch (although we didnt avail ourselves, I can imagine that there would be times when it would be a welcome diversion!) We stayed in the Garden Room which was just perfect for relaxing & slumbering. The bed was massive (certainly for us!) & comfortable enough for my insomina to take a bit of a pounding & giving me the longest sleep I have had in a good few years! The bedding is luscious & people who love quilting would have given the place 11/10 just on that basis alone! Breakfasts - home cooked & three courses (!) on both mornings were interesting, nutirious & set us up til late into the afternoon. Nancy is a wonderful baker with the lightest touch - her cherry scones would blow away in a the smallest of breezes ;0) Advice & help about where to eat was forthcoming & spot on - greatly appreciated. I cant finish this without mentioning the grounds around the house, if you love nature sitting out on the verandah in a chair quietly observing the activity by the bird feeders is a treat in itself & not to be missed..

The final accolades must go to Mike this morning when we found ourselves locked out of our hire car - he stepped up to the plate, made the call, reassured us & handled it all with good grace. We would commend Maple Leaf to anyone, who seeks sanctuary, calm & excellent hospitality in the Woodstock area. Go! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Leaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.