We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3036 S. Decker Lake Drive, West Valley City, UT 84119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in West Valley City
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Family friendly property is an understatement for this property. Great location. Shuttle service goes above and beyond services requested. All staff members were incredible, providing restaurant, and attraction information. I wish to personally thank the following staff members that I encountered. Leah, James, Melanie, Jake, Stephen, and David (which I think is the Front office manager at neighboring Staybridge) Clean rooms and all around great hotel!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you jjbradford00 for your kind words about our team. We do take great pride in delivering great service to each and every guest. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you visit Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
8
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two night here and really enjoyed it. We paid $94/night for the King Suite which was a great value. It was a nice big room with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, sink, cupboards). The bed was big and very, very comfortable. We have a 11-month old who crawls all over and he was able to crawl around easily in this big, clean and mostly baby-proofed room. The water park was fun although we couldn't figure out how to get up to the food court area.

Overall we will look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: King Suite is a good value, but there are not two separate rooms, just one big room with kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Easy to get to off of I215, surrounded my lots of restaurants, theatres, and other lodging options. Room was great, hotel staff was nice for the rate I got. Tucked away from a lot of traffic and noise. Even a small waterslide in the pool area for the kids! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for first floor to avoid the slow freight type elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with a friend during the Outdoor Retailer trade show. The room was booked by the convention, and I was a bit concerned when I was told where I was staying (and the price). I looked around for weeks and found nothing closer for under $250 per night, and nothing cheaper anywhere in the area. It turns out I could have saved the trouble. This was a nicer HI Express with nice beds, a nice bathroom and it was quiet despite being close to the freeway. I didn't have time to check out the waterpark. Not only was the hotel close to the freeway, and several restaurants, it was just a dirt lot away from the light-rail station. We used the light rail two different times to get to downtown and felt fine with it. We did have some locals state that this was not the best part of town, but being that it is Salt Lake, that's really not a big deal. It was a really quick jaunt to downtown, less than 10 minutes every time we did it. Clean hotel, friendly staff.

Room Tip: The higher room facing the parking lot, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Kids will love and adore this hotel with its Huge slide for the big kids (height restrictions and limited hours) and even the little kids in the kiddie pool. Highly reccomend this hotel for travelers with children. It can get a bit noisy with all the kids and breakfast gets busy too. As long as you know there are kids galore and can handle all that comes with that - this hotel is definitely going to be a favorite!

Room Tip: Again kids love to be near the pool so it gets a little crazy near there when it closes at 10:00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dzenana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and staying with us. It's so exciting to hear that your entire family enjoyed our hotel and water park. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were lucky enough to get this hote via a popular online bidding site and were thrilled when we found out not only was it a new hotel (built I believe in 2009), and not only did it have an awesome free breakfast with cheese omletes, bagels, waffels, sausage, etc etc, but it also had an indoor waterpark!!! sure the 'waterpark' 'was tiny by park standards but by hotel pool standards it was exceptional. it featured a large-ish hot tub, two pools, a very shallow pool w/ play equipment/slides for the little kids and then a large two story tall tube slide for everyone above a certain height. The hotel also had a game room with pin ball machines etc which was super fun. Aside from the pool the rooms were spacious and new with a large Flat panel tv and super comfy beds. Next time we're traveling through the SLC area we'll definitely try to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If traveling without kids I would ask for a room at the end of a hall (that way theres only the risk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dzenana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your super exciting feedback on our hotel. We just melt away when we hear that our guests experience was more than what was expected. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK SPRINGS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I always try to stay here when coming to Salt Lake. For me the location is perfect. There are several restaraunts in the general area and shopping. I feel very safe here as well. The service I recieve is always great. I enjoy the continental breakfast. Our room is always clean and tidy. Even for being on a floor where there are smoking rooms, our room NEVER smelled of smoke. I have always recieved great service from the front desk and breakfast attendants are wonderful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dzenana M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

I must say that it is our pleasure to hear that your stay is always enjoyable! I am very pleased to hear that our services is a great one as well. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark

Address: 3036 S. Decker Lake Drive, West Valley City, UT 84119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > West Valley City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Valley City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in Summer of 2009, the Holiday Inn Express in West Valley City, Utah is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off I-215 and just south of I-80, our contemporary designed property is surrounded by majestic mountains and within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Our hotel is minutes from downtown Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City International Airport, Temple Square, USANA Amphitheatre, Rocky Mountain Raceway, Valley Fair Mall, E-Center (home of the Utah Grizzlies), Utah Olympic Oval, Hale Centre Theatre, Hogle Zoo, Energy Solutions Arena (home of the Utah Jazz), and the new Gateway Mall. We are a short drive from many premier ski resorts such as Snowbird, Alta, Brighton, Solitude, Park City Mountain Resort, Deer Valley and The Canyons. You will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring a variety of hot items, business center, fitness room, meeting space, wired and wireless, high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy our 3 story water park featuring 3 pools including a zero entry wading pool, a 183 foot water slide, heated whirlpool, party room, arcade, concession area, and a wet and wild jungle gym. We are confident that your stay in West Valley City will be a memorable experience and you ll have mountains of fun, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Valley City - Waterpark
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Valley City - Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.