We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 South 2200 West, West Valley City, UT 84119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in West Valley City
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked this hotel through hotels.com because there was a lot going on in the area and hotels.com only offers hotels were there are vacancies. I travel for work, good internet is a plus - it's hard to find reviews detailing the strength and quality of the internet - they claimed to have high speed wifi and they did not. In fact, when I talked to the front desk clerk, she verified they've been have problems with it, but no one had yet to complain. I investigated myself and turns out they are piping DSL across he wifi, in a motel with more than a hundred rooms. Ugh. I had a video conference and a scouting report to do, I had to do it over the phone with a very patient intern, which was not ideal, but at least I didn't get fired.

The rooms are supposed to be non-smoking but the whole place reeks. REEKS. I walked down my hall, all the rooms are labeled but the hall was thick with smoke, las vegas casino style.

The claim to be pet friendly, but two staff members I ran into - with my fifteen pound lab pup - acted UTTERLY TERRIFIED of the dog and one went as far as to run behind the desk and cower. Yikes. At this point, I actually commented about how hard it must be for her to work in a dog friendly place.

Homeless people hang out on the lawn in the front of the building. Doesn't exactly make you feel safe to leave your car full of road trip cast offs.

The bathroom was clean and sparsely outfitted. The beds were 5/10 comfy.

All and all, if you don't need the internet, don't care about your choices on the TV, don't mind the cigarette smoke ambiance, then it's fair for the price, even if the location kind of sucks, and decently clean.

Room Tip: Can't help you here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
43
35
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

well my girls and i spent two days at this hotel it was grate. good food lots of help i wood give this hotel a 4 out 5 . very clean pool was clean hotel very clean. hope to see you there sometime. thanks again. phil

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were in Utah to attend a wedding reception. When we made our reservations we made them for a King Suite with a jetted tub. NOT what we got, but had to pay King suite rates anyway. Was not even given a lesser rate for a much smaller room.
We were put in a 1 bed Queen accessible room with jetted tub that the drain would not hold the water making it unusable. We had to call 3 times to get it fixed properly and the man that came was rude and treated us like we were bothering him.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This exterior of this property was very clean.
The lobby was spacious and well appointed.
The counter clerk was quick to welcome us to
his property.
The room was spacious considering there were
two queen beds, desk, desk chair, sitting chair.
The bathroom was clean, with the shower and
toilet were behind the closed door.
A full breakfast was available and was very filling.
Almost most importantly, the night rate was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West

Address: 3540 South 2200 West, West Valley City, UT 84119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > West Valley City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Valley City
#3 Business Hotel in West Valley City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West is convenient to the airport and all area attractions. From here, it is an easy drive to Energy Solution Arena (Utah Jazz), Maverik Center(E-Center), Hale Theater, and Rice Stadium. Visit the Brigham Young Monument, Kennicot Copper Mine, and Hogle Zoo. Head downtown to Temple Square and Crossroads Plaza. You will find plenty of golf courses nearby and shopping at Fashion Place and Valley Fair Malls. The La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West has comfortable and spacious standard rooms and for extended stay, two-room suites, themed spa suites, and executive suites. We have meeting facilities with fax/copy services at the front desk, and for your enjoyment, an indoor heated pool and a fitness center. Our friendly staff sets up our Free Bright Side Breakfast each day. We are near the HWY 215 and 3500 South. Our location is convenient for visitors to Pioneer Valley Hospital, Camp G. Williams (Utah National Guard), and Brigham Young University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West Hotel West Valley City
La Quinta West Valley City
West Valley City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West West Valley City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.