We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were out of everything” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Green Papaya

Pho Green Papaya
2000 W. 3500 South, West Valley City, UT
801-886-1548
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“They were out of everything”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We went there with a friend, it was our first time there. You have to go up to a counter to order yourself. Staff was nice at first and answered questions about the menu. After that they informed us that they were out of chicken so there goes half the menu. Ordered our food as well as boba drinks. When I asked if the lychee drink came with bobas he said: well actually we're out of bobas. Really? He would not have told us if I wouldn't have asked. No Sir, we do not want a $4 drink for some lychee juice. So I said: well u could throw in a free appetizer. He got mad at me and said: well that's not how it works. You can come back any other day and we'll have them. My response: well I'm surely not coming back here. He didn't like that... So off to the table we go as he approaches us: we're actually out of egg rolls but we can substitute them with spring rolls. Are you kidding me? No sorry, no nothing, it was just what it was and he didn't care. The food ended up being very tasty but that's the only positive thing I can say. Very poor customer service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Something New & Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We wanted to find a West Valley restaurant that was something new and different for us so we tried the Pho Green Papaya. Traditional Chinese food has long been a favorite of ours, so we were delighted to expand our eating experience with a number of new dishes recommended by our friendly server Vincent. We didn't know Vietnamese food could be so good! Their kitchen was happy to tone down the spice heat to our liking. We look forward to returning here again in the future!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Pho Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We dine here every chance we get.
Love the coconut drink, fresh spring rolls, P8 steak & brisket pho, mango sticky rice to top it all off. Having brought friends and family along everyone agrees this is the best place for the best Pho experience in Utah.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were rather disappointed with the Green Papaya. We had poked our heads in months ago during a stop by Bucket O' Crawfish (which shares the parking lot) and thought the Green Papaya looked very good. The smells are right, the decor was good, and the selection on the menu is bigger than we have locally (in Orem). So we made a special effort to go there for lunch recently.

Unfortunately, the restaurant fails to deliver an experience worthy of a special effort. We had the quail appetizer (ONE quail! are you kidding me?), the spicy green beans (not that spicy, but fine), the fresh rolls (disappointingly lacking in herbs), the basil fried rice (a little mushy with tiny pieces of shrimp), and the Korean style beef ribs (good). The best two items were the quail (but a truly silly serving size) and the ribs. Overall, the food was average. 'Don't know about their pho or bun, but we can get both in Orem, so that's not what drew us to this restaurant.

The service was pretty bad. It took five requests (of three different people) to get our drink order placed. They try using different servers for different elements of the meal, but they are just not competent enough to pull that off.

So it's ok, but not worth a special effort to go there. If we are going to drive, I'd re-visit Indochine near the University of Utah instead. Better overall dining experience in a nicer neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai and Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was my second visit to Pho Green Papaya. Close to the Maverick Center so I like dining here before events. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu options. All of our food was delicious. Presentation is beautiful. Several vegetarian options on the menu. Do yourself a favor and try this place, especially if you enjoy Vietnamese or Thai cuisine. They serve Pepsi products here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Green Papaya also viewed

West Valley City, Wasatch Range
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Pho Green Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Green Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.