We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go wrong at Joe's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joe's Crab Shack
7277 Plaza Center Dr, West Jordan, UT 84084
(801) 282-8804
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 128 Restaurants in West Jordan
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never go wrong at Joe's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My dinner was delicious and the price was right. I can always count on Joe's for good seafood, a relaxing atmosphere and great value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Better and more fun than Red Lobster but not your freshest seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a gift card here for a steampot. I really like steamed seafood and I think the variety of their steampots is very good. Knowing seafood, I know most of it is frozen but I think the taste is not that bad for frozen seafood. They do use some good spices.
The atmosphere is fun and the wait staff are generally attentive and seem to be having a good time.
Just know what to expect when you go here. Fun place for the familes or special events. For a nice quiet, sit-down dinner wioth fresh seafood, there are other, better choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So many other better choices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went here on a Thursday evening and it was fairly empty. Our server was great, the beer was cold, the place was clean. The food was expensive, but that wasn't the problem. I just don't know how it's possible to make bad fish and chips. Ok, the chips were fine. The fish was tough. Seriously, it was tough. The outside wasn't burned, it didn't see over cooked, but it sucked. I never have to go there again, and I suggest you resist the urge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place for Crab.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My son loves Crab. He knows good crab when he eats it. Tried Red Lobster and the rest, and this is the best place. Clean, good service. Watch for periodic coupons as it's pricier, but definitely worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money on 'seafood'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First of, the seafood being served there is NOT fresh. They heat up frozen lobsters & crab legs! I had the Lobster Feast and the lobster was like rubber, the tail shriveled up to the size of a rubber band and the claw shell was bigger than the quarter size meat I was able to scrape out of there! The lobster and crab legs have been sitting in the freezer for awhile - the meat was dry! So save yourself some money and don't eat there!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

West Jordan, Wasatch Range
West Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
West Jordan, Wasatch Range
West Jordan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.