We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really different scenery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonneville Salt Flats

Bonneville Salt Flats
Wendover, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Wendover
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Race Car Tracks, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dry, open area near Lake Bonneville known for car racing.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Really different scenery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Drive out to the bonneville sign (the one full of bullet holes) and park your car to walk around barefoot in the salt when it's covered by a few inches of water. Really cool. Bring a hat and plenty of sunscreen if you are spending any time here. Also DO NOT drive on the salt near the area of the sign. Someone was very stuck in the soft muddy salt when we were visiting and it looked miserable. The only way you may be underwhelmed by the Bonneville salt flats is if you have been to the Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    43
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unusual, unique and a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently visited the salt flats and I have to say it's a pretty exciting thing to see! You have to see it in person to believe it. You can drive right on out there and get the full experience, take pictures and check out that salt up close and personal! If you are in the area definitely stop by!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a business trip to Vegas, we took a side trip to Wendover, UT to go to the Bonneville Salt Flats, something my husband has always wanted to do. It's awesome there. I went along to be a "good sport" and ended up thoroughly enjoying it! The owners of the cars that race down these flats (some at 300 mph) park their vehicles and welcome your visits to their pit areas. They loved sharing stories of their cars or trucks, how they'd built them, how fast they'd gone and how many times they've taken them down the Salt Flats. The mountains in the background were amazing. If you've seen the World's Fastest Indian movie with Anthony Hopkins, you will truly love and relate to this experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So Much Salt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Believe this would be totally exciting if you happen to arrive there when some time trials were happening; however, on our visit, nothing but salt!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Out of this world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were doing a road trip and decided to visit the salt flats.The view is absolutely out of this world. For miles at a stretch there is nothing but white land and blue skies. The salt ensures that nothing grows there.We could not race our vehicle as it had rained there a couple of days ago and the ground was soft and muddy. On the plus side we could actually see evaporation at work.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonneville Salt Flats also viewed

 

Been to Bonneville Salt Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonneville Salt Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.