We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steinaker Reservoir-near Dinosaur State Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fleet State Park

Red Fleet State Park
8750 North Highway 191, Vernal, UT 84078-7801
435-789-4432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Attractions in Vernal
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Huge sandstone rock formations contain actual dinosaur prints.
Overgaard, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Steinaker Reservoir-near Dinosaur State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Steinaker State Park in Vernal. We drove through Fossil Valley RV Park, but it was surrounded by commercial buildings, tight spaces and looked like a lot of permanent residents. We then drove to the KOA. They were remodeling the place, and the owners were very nice, but it was close to the road, very tight spaces and dirt sites with little trees. So we then went the extra 6 miles to Steinaker and were so glad that we did! The water was low, but the park was beautiful, peaceful, large sites with asphalt driveways, views, trees (although just barely blooming). They have pull-thrus and back-ins, some sites have electric and there are water faucets to use to fill up if you need it. Restrooms were OK. We went to the Dinosaur museum the first day in Vernal and it was very interesting. The 2nd day we drove to Dinosaur State Park and took the trolley to the site, which was spectacular. We would definitely stay at Steinaker again. We travel in a motorhome with tow vehicle.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and some great walks and rock scrambles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a great stop. Enjoyed the vistas and scrambling over some of the rocks to enjoy more great views. Some of the roads are packed sand but our Prius did fine on them. One surprise was winding up in the middle of a cattle roundup on one of the back roads. It was a great break in a day of travel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dino tracks a good trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Do not take the info about this hike lightly. We went out about 11 am with a lot of cloud cover after a good rain storm. We came back with clear sky and it was hot. Be prepared. We found it an interesting hike, but be prepared.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you like Moab, this is similar to Moab with water. We hiked to the dinosaur tracks and then took a swim in the gorge. I highly recommend this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is a gem--the water is warm, there are few boats, they have kayak and paddle board rentals, and they have dinosaur tracks! Can't beat that! We had a wonderful time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fleet State Park also viewed

 

Been to Red Fleet State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fleet State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.