We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a good stomach cramp? Go here...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
1096 U.S. 40, Vernal, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 50 Restaurants in Vernal
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vernal, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like a good stomach cramp? Go here...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It amazes me that in the state of Utah, you are required to carry a Food Handler's Permit to work around food. The reason for amazement is food safety is not often enforced at least from my experience.I don't know why they even require the permit because managers I have showed the permit to shrug when you have it. They don't even want to see it and it costs $20.00! As an employee working in a Vernal food establishment, I have seen salads being made on a raw meat(red) cutting board and served,(!) wearing gloves as a second hand, and generally doing things (not providing soap in employee bathrooms, storing leftover food in cans...) that would get you written up or fired elsewhere but seems to be A-OK here. When calling attention to these things, the manager somehow becomes threatened I am trying to steal their job away and so causes unnecessary drama. That being said I have had raw chicken at Golden Corral in Vernal on two separate occasions.Raw as when blood gushes out the top when pierced. No apologies, no attention to the problem, just blank stares by the wait staff and then walking away both times, seven years apart(yes I never ate here for seven years from the first incident and then went back and the chicken was raw again.). Sorry, staring is not going to make it magically delicious. Cooking it might.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hmmm - not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Golden Corrals are all equal but some are more equal than others and this isn't one of them. The food wasn't very well-presented - they seem quite content to leave dried-up tubs of soup on show, for example. I saw one diner pick up a new plate only to see dried-up food on the back of the plate below. He pointed this out to a passing waitress who said 'well, it's not my fault' and walked off, doing nothing about it. If you see forks in the dispenser, make sure you grab one because it might be the last you'll see for a while - they don't fall over themselves to keep on top of the washing up.The whole aura is of a slightly grubby canteen. No-one expects GC to be the Ritz but this is a relatively dirty example of the chain and we have eaten in many far better examples. Food was no better than adequate.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

There isn't much dining in Vernal so we decided to try this. The health department needs to take over! The aprons the staff wear look like they haven't been washed in weeks. There is food all over the floor. Almost slipped twice on food left on the floor. The choices were bad buffet style. Had hair cooked into a piece of fish. The carpet hasn't been steam cleaned ever. Overall GROSS!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Old building...fine, but it was dirty. Food was not good. Place was busy, but why??? $11 for adult plus drink. Nothing like Golden Corral's I have visited before. This is something to pass on.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not up to Golden Corral standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Not a lot of variety. Lots of deep fried, non healthy choices. New plates where brought out and stacked wet. Teenage hostess was more interested in flirting with guys than attending quickly to customers. Over all not a pleasant experience. I won't be going back to this sub standard Golden Corral.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.